LTC Clay Mountcastle, mount99@uw.edu

Lieutenant Colonel John C. Mountcastle graduated from the Virginia Military Institute and was commissioned in the US Army as an Air Defense Artillery officer in 1994. His first assignment was to 5-2 ADA in Bamberg, Germany where he served as an Avenger Platoon Leader and Battery Executive Officer. After attending the Infantry Officers' Advanced Course, he reported to 3-4 ADA at Ft. Bragg, and served as the Battalion Adjutant and the Commander of Bravo Battery (Stinger/Avenger.) Mountcastle then attended graduate school at Duke University and earned a masters degree in History in 2003. From 2003 to 2006, he served as an assistant Professor of History at the United States Military Academy at West Point. After earning his PhD in History, he then attended the Command and General Staff College at Fort Leavenworth, followed by an assignment to Fort Bliss Texas, where he assumed the duties of Executive Officer for the 3rd Battalion, 2nd Air Defense Artillery Battalion. From 2009-2010, he deployed with the Joint Task Force of US Army Special Operations Command (USASOC) in support of Operation Iraqi Freedom. While assigned as a Team Leader for the US Army Combat Studies Institute at Fort Leavenworth in 2010-2011, he oversaw the Military History Instruction program. Lieutenant Colonel Mountcastle currently serves as the Professor of Military Science at the University of Washington.

Lieutenant Colonel Mountcastle is married to Dr. Sally Mountcastle and they have three children, Molly (5), Grant (3), and Reid (1). His book, Punitive War: Confederate Guerrillas and Union Reprisals was published by the University Press of Kansas in 2009."

MSG Ryan Rust, rwrust@uw.edu

Information to come.



Cadre and Staff
Name Position & Email
MAJ Brett Rubio Executive Officer
rubiob@uw.edu
Mr. William Pola Assistant Professor of Military Science - MSII Class
wmpola@uw.edu
MAJ Elberg S-3
elbergj@uw.edu
CPT Sarff Assistant S-3
jsarff@uw.edu
CPT Michael Kovalsky Assistant Professor of Military Science - MSIII Class
kovalsky@uw.edu
Mr. Proctor Scholarship & Enrollment Officer
proctd3@uw.edu
Mr. Russell Contractor
wr47@uw.edu
MSG Tyr Symank Assistant Professor of Military Science - MSI Class
ts16@uw.edu
MSG Egelstad Assistant Professor of Military Science - MSIII Class
egelstad@uw.edu
SGT Adam Schwartz National Guard Recruiter
adam.schwartzl@us.army.mil
SGT David Burnett Army Reserve Recruiter
david.burnett@usarec.army.mil
Mrs. Jennifer Cumpston Departmental Secretary
jenryan@uw.edu
Mr. Robert Foedisch Administrative Technician
robertwf@uw.edu
Ms. DeAnna Karr Administrative Technician
karrd@uw.edu
Mr. Allen Wallace Supply Technician
wallaa@uw.edu