The Green Walls are UP!

Green Futures Lab gets their planting on

Professor Nancy Rottle, Leann Andrews, Evan Henrich, and Harley Pan helped to install soil mix and various hardy plants into the green wall system.  The movable system (for maintenance and monitoring) features 22 different species, more than 500 plants, and the upper wall is about 80% native.  
Please check back for more updates, King 5 News coverage, and time-lapse photography.
leann evan harley planting
nancy planting

Read More

Posted Friday 20 July 2012 at 09:30 am |

Vertical Sustainability at Gould Hall

Livable Moving Wall Project Led by the Green Futures Laboratory

Read all about an innovative living wall currently under construction on the south west wall of the Gould Hall.

Posted Thursday 21 June 2012 at 09:11 am |
Used tags: ,

Great Places Awards

Ben Spencer and Jeff Hou received the 2012 Place Design Award and Place Book Award

Four exemplary projects in architecture, planning, landscape architecture, and urban design have been named winners of the 2012 Great Places Awards, and were honored during EDRA's 43rd Annual Conference, May 29-June 2, 2012. Among the winners, Escuela Ecologies Saludable Initiative: Pargue Primaria Pitagoras, led by Assistant Professor Ben Spencer, received the Place Design award.

Associate Professor and Chair Jeff Hou's insurgent Public Space: Guerrilla Urbanism and the Remaking of Contemporary Cities (2010) received the Place Book award. 

Click here to learn more about the Great Places award and the 2012 winners.

Posted Monday 18 June 2012 at 11:26 am |
Used tags: , , ,

UpGarden: Seattle's Newest P-Patch on top of Mercer Garage

A Communally Managed Rooftop Garden opens Saturday June 2nd

Please join us this Saturday, 6/2, as we celebrate the opening of the UpGarden, the country's first communally manged rooftop garden, located atop the Mercer Garage at Seattle Center link to map  UW Grads Eric Higbee and Nicole Kistler served as the landscape architects for this new 30,000 sqft P-Patch.

Read More

Posted Saturday 02 June 2012 at 09:43 am |

Thaisa Way named Landscape Architecture Research Fellow at Penn State University

As a landscape historian, Way will research the drawings, papers, photographs and videos of 20th-century American landscape architect A. E. Bye, as well as the work of his contemporaries, John Bracken and Stuart Mertz. This work in the history of landscape architecture focuses on the use of land forms, earth art, and topography as a medium in the design of spaces. The research is part of a larger project on post-industrial landscapes and concepts of thick sections in landscape history. Read more.

Read More

Posted Sunday 20 May 2012 at 9:07 pm |

MLA Easton Branam Awarded Bonderman Travel Scholarship

Congratulations to Easton Branam of the UW Landscape Architecture Department

The Bonderman Travel Fellowship offers University of Washington graduate students (including those in the Law and Business Schools and other graduate and professional programs) and undergraduate students in the University Honors Program (Interdisciplinary, Departmental or College Honors) and in UW Tacoma’s Global Honors Program an opportunity to engage in independent exploration and travel abroad. Easton will will travel to Mongolia, Bhutan, India, Indonesia, Sweden, The United Republic of Tanzania, and Iceland to explore the everyday realities and individual adaptations that occur as a result of urbanization.

Read More

Posted Sunday 20 May 2012 at 8:58 pm |

Community Builder Award

Associate Professor and Chair Jeff Hou received the 2012 Community Builder Award from Seattle Chinatown International District Preservation and Development Authority (SCIDpda) for his contribution in bringing community stakeholders together to coordinate physical improvements in the Chinatown ID, including the recently re-opened International Children’s Park and the King St. Visioning Project. More information --

Posted Friday 11 May 2012 at 02:18 am |

MLA Tera Hatfield is an Olmsted Scholar Finalist

An independent jury of leaders in the landscape architecture profession selected the winner and finalists from a group of 46 graduate and undergraduate students who were nominated by their faculty for being exceptional student leaders. Congratulations Tera!

Read More about this years Olmsted Scholars here.

Posted Sunday 06 May 2012 at 11:03 pm |
Used tags: ,