Sarikaya's Group


Group Members


Under Construction


A. Molecular Biomimetics

  • Centrifuges-ultracentrifuges
  • Scintillation Counter
  • Freezers (-20 deg C,-80 deg C, -4 deg C)
  • Protein and ANA electrophoresis cells
  • Electroporation unit
  • Shaker water baths
  • UV table and photo documentation camera
  • Incubators
  • Microplate reader
  • PCR System
  • Ultrasonicators
  • Vacuum centrifuge
  • Millipore ultra pure water system
  • Spectrophotometers
  • Microwave
  • Plate shakers

B. Materials Characterization

  i. Microscopy
  • Scanning Electron Microscopy: FEG-SEM with EDS and EBSP
  • Scanning Probe Microscopy: Digital Instruments: Nanoscope-III, high res. AFM/STM/MFM, etc. all modes of operation in aind and fluid.
  • Transmission electron microscopy: Topcon 002B with Gatan Imaging Filter, Atomic resolution electron microscopy (200 keV and 1.8 A resolution; probe size: 5A).
  ii. Diffraction
  • Convergent beam electron diffraction, via the TEM
  • Laser-equipped optical bench
  • Powder XRD (MSE)
  • Back Scattered Electron Diffraction(SEM)
  iii. Spectroscopy
  • EDS (on the SEM), EELS (on the Topcon TEM via GIF) (energy resolution 0.8 eV)
  iv. Sample Prep Labs
  • For TEM, SEM, AFM and XRD analysis. Ion beam miller (Low T), electro polishers (for metals), Colloid preparations, Ultramicrotome (for polymer and biological samples), etc.
  v. Nanoscale Physical Characterization
  • Aloof determination of electronic properties of nanoscale Materials (nanotubes and wires) via GIF/EELS/Topcon
  • Magnetic Force Microscopy - via Nanoscope-III AFM
  • Nanoindentation Unit: Hysitron Picoindentor attached to Park CP AFM (NanoNewton Loads)

C. Materials Processing

  • Access to DTA/DSC/TGA
  • Calcination, sintering, and densification
  • Ceramic powder processing
  • Colloid characterization (zeta potentiometer, etc.)
  • Gold and C evaporation
  • Nano-colloid preparations (metals and semiconductors)
  • Controlled temperature baths for biomineralization


Francois Baneyx
John Evans
Alex Jen
Samson A. Jenekhe
Fumio Ohuchi
Mehmet Sarikaya
Daniel Schwartz
Beth Traxler