Chemistry Logo
James J. De Yoreo

James J. De Yoreo Affiliate Professor of Chemistry
Affiliate Professor of Materials Science & Engineering

Chief Scientist, Materials Synthesis and Simulation Across Scales, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Founding Co-Director, Northwest Institute for Materials Physics, Chemistry, and Technology (NW IMPACT)

Ph.D. Cornell University, 1985

(Nanoscience, Physical Chemistry, Materials Synthesis, Biomolecular Systems)

(509) 375-6494


PNNL website

NW IMPACT website


Research Interests

The research interests of the De Yoreo group can be broadly categorized as understanding and manipulating the physics of interactions and assembly at solid-liquid interfaces in nanoscale, biological, biomimetic, and environmental systems. The primary techniques used in support of this work are in situ scanned probe microscopy and in situ transmission electron microscopy (TEM), in combination with theoretical analysis.


Specific research topics include the following:


Assembly and aggregation in biological and biomimetic systems: biomineralization; protein aggregation and self-assembly; virus and protein organization at nanoscale chemical templates.


Environmental and technological crystallization: Molecular-scale controls on mineral formation and crystal growth: Calcium carbonate, oxalate and phosphate minerals; protein crystal growth.


In situ scanned probe microscopy: molecular imaging; force spectroscopy; chemical nano-lithography; material transport at tip-surface contacts.


In situ transmission electron microscopy: development of fluid cell imaging; dynamics of nucleation, protein matrix-directed mineralization, oriented attachment, mesocrystal formation.


Representative Publications


Nielsen, M. H., et al. Investigating Processes of Nanocrystal Formation and Transformation via Liquid Cell TEM. Microsc. Microanal. 2014, 20, 425–436.


Hamm, L. M., et al. Reconciling disparate views of template-directed nucleation through measurement of calcite nucleation kinetics and binding energies. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 2014, 111, 1304–1309.


Wallace, A. F., et al. Microscopic evidence for liquid-liquid separation in supersaturated CaCO33 solutions. Science 2013, 341, 885–889.


De Yoreo, J.J.; Chung, S.; Friddle, R.W. In situ AFM as a tool for investigating interactions and assembly dynamics in biomolecular and biomineral systems. Adv. Func. Mat. 2013, 23, 2525–2538.


Habraken, W. J. E. M., et al. Ion association complexes unite classical and non-classical theories for the biomimetic nucleation of calcium phosphate. Nature Commun. 2013, 4, 1507.


Li, D., et al. Direction-specific interactions control crystal growth by oriented attachment. Science 2012, 336, 1014–1018.


Friddle, R. W.; Noy, A.; De Yoreo, J. J. Interpreting the widespread nonlinear force spectra of intermolecular bonds. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 2012, 109, 13573–13578.


Shin, S.-H.; Chung, S.; Sanii, B.; Bertozzi, C. R.; De Yoreo, J. J. Direct observation of kinetic traps associated with structural transformations leading to multiple pathways of S-layer assembly. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 2012, 109, 12968–12973.


Chung, S.; Felts, J. R.; Wang, D.; King, W. P.; De Yoreo, J. J. Temperature-Dependence of Ink Transport during Thermal Dip-Pen Nanolithography. Appl. Phys. Lett. 2011, 99, 193101 (cover article).


Chung, S.; Shin, S.-H.; Bertozzi, C. R.; De Yoreo, J.J. Self-catalyzed growth of S layers via an amorphous-to-crystalline transition limited by folding kinetics. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 2010, 107, 16536–16541.


Friddle, R. W., et al. Sub-nanometer AFM imaging of peptide–mineral interactions links clustering and competition to acceleration and catastrophe. Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 2010, 107, 11–15.


Awards & Activities

  • Turnbull Lectureship, Materials Research Society (2016)
  • Elected Member, Washington State Academy of Sciences (2015)
  • Fellow, Materials Research Society (2014)
  • American Association for Crystal Growth Award (2013)
  • Laudise Prize, International Organization for Crystal Growth (2010)
  • Fellow, American Physical Society (2007)
  • Executive Committees: International Organization for Crystal Growth, American Association for Crystal Growth
  • President, Materials Research Society (2011-12); Board of Directors (2009-10)
  • Laudise Prize Lecture, International Conference on Crystal Growth (2010)
  • AACG Award Lecture, American Conference on Crystal Growth and Epitaxy (2013)
  • Plenary Lecturer, International Conference on Crystal Growth and Epitaxy (2013)
  • Plenary Lecturer, Brazilian Materials Research Society (2011)
  • Major Conference Activities: Co-Chair, 2nd International Conference on Materials for Energy (2013); Co-chair, 17th American Conference on Crystal Growth and Epitaxy (2009); Chair, Gordon Conference on Biomineralization (2008; Vice-chair, 2006); Co-chair, Spring Materials Research Society Meeting (2004)

Site Map | Contact Us