Sarah L. Keller

Representative Publications

R.A. Black, D.W. Deamer, M.C. Blosser, B.L. Stottrup, R. Tavakley, and S.L. Keller, Nucleobases bind to and stabilize aggregates of a prebiotic amphiphile, providing a viable mechanism for the emergence of protocells, Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci., 110, 13272-13276, 2013.


C.A. Stanich, A.R. Honerkamp-Smith, G.G. Putzel, C.A. Warth, A.K. Lamprecht, P. Mandal, E. Mann, T.D. Hua, and S.L. Keller, Coarsening Dynamics of Domains in Lipid Membranes, Biophys. J., 105, 444-454, 2013. (Cover Article)


M.C. Blosser, J.B. Starr, C.W. Turtle, J. Ashcraft, and S.L. Keller, Minimal Effect of Lipid Charge on Membrane Miscibility Phase Behavior in Three Ternary Systems, Biophys. J., 104, 2629-2638, 2013.


T. Portet, S.E. Gordon, and S.L. Keller, Increasing Membrane Tension Decreases Miscibility Temperatures, an Experimental Demonstration via Micropipette Aspiration, Biophys. J., 103, L35-37, 2012. (Featured article; free download)


A.R. Honerkamp-Smith and S.L. Keller, Experimental Observations of Dynamic Critical Phenomena in a Lipid Membrane, Phys. Rev. Lett, 2012, 108, 165702, 2012.


M.M. Stevens, A.R. Honerkamp-Smith and S.L. Keller, Solubility Limits of Cholesterol, Lanosterol, Ergosterol, Stigmasterol and β-Sitosterol in Electroformed Lipid Vesicles, Soft Matter, 6, 5882-5890, 2010. (Cover article) PMCID: PMC3156111


A.R. Honerkamp-Smith, S.L. Veatch, and S.L. Keller, An Introduction to Critical Points for Biophysicists: Observations of Compositional Heterogeneity in Lipid Membranes, Biochim. Biophys. Acta – Biomembr., 1788, 53-63, 2009. (cover article)


A.R. Honerkamp-Smith, P. Cicuta, M.D. Collins, S.L. Veatch, M. den Nijs, M. Schick, and S.L. Keller, Line Tensions, Correlation Lengths, and Critical Exponents in Lipid Membranes near Critical Points, Biophys. J., 95, 236-246, 2008.


M.D. Collins and S.L. Keller, Tuning Lipid Mixtures to Induce Domains across Leaflets of Unsupported Asymmetric Bilayers, Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci., 105, 124-128, 2008.


Back to Research Interest

Back to Research Interests

Awards & Activities

  • Biophysical Society Thomas E. Thompson Award, 2014
  • Fellow of the AAAS 2013
  • UW Postdoctoral Association Mentor Award, 2012
  • Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar, 2012-2013
  • Fellow of the American Physical Society, 2011
  • Elected to Washington State Academy of Sciences, 2011
  • ASBMB Avanti Young Investigator Award in Lipid Research
  • The Biophysical Society's Margaret Oakley Dayhoff Award
  • UW Department of Chemistry Outstanding Teaching Award
  • Cottrell Teacher-Scholar Award
  • NSF CAREER Award
  • Research Innovation Award (Research Corporation)
  • National Institutes of Health Postdoctoral Fellowship (NRSA)
  • University of California President's Postdoctoral Fellowship

Site Map | Contact Us