Microvascular Complications of Diabetes

Cutting-edge research into the non-atherosclerotic complications of diabetes and aging is being conducted by investigators spanning diverse scientific disciplines. Their work includes studies of the mechanisms leading to damage to organs that are typically considered to be adversely affected by hyperglycemia, the effect of hyperglycemia on wound healing, as well as central and peripheral nervous system changes that occur as a result of and contribute to changes associated with hypoglycemia. Affiliate investigators who use the Diabetes Research Center cores are essential to the success of their research.

Affiliates List

Affiliate Name Institution Department
Abrass, Christine, M.D.
Adjunct Professor
cabrass@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Nephrology)
Afkarian, Maryam, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
afkarian@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Nephrology)
Alpers, Charles, M.D.
Professor
calp@uw.edu
University of Washington Pathology
Blau, Anthony, M.D.
Professor
tblau@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Hematology/Oncology)
Buckner, Jane, M.D.
Member and Associate Director/ Clinical Assistant Professor
jbuckner@uw.edu
Benaroya Research Institute, University of Washington Medicine (Rheumatology)
Chen, Peter, M.D.
Assistant Professor
petechen@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine)
Chitaley, Kanchan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
kanchanc@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Urology)
Cirulli, Vincenzo, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
vcirulli@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition)
Crisa, Laura, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
lcrisa@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition)
de Boer, Ian, M.D., M.S.
Assistant Professor
deboer@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Nephrology)
Duffield, Jeremy, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
jeremysd@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Nephrology)
Gordon, Sharona E., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
seg@uw.edu
University of Washington Physiology and Biophysics
Greenbaum, Carla, M.D.
Clinical Associate Professor
cjgreen@benaroyaresearch.org
Benaroya Research Institute, Diabetes Research Program Medicine
Hagopian, William, M.D., Ph.D.
Scientific Director, Clinical Associate Professor
wah@uw.edu
Pacific Northwest Research Institute, University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition)
Hampe, Christiane, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
champe@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Himmelfarb, Jonathan, M.D.
Professor
himmej@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Nephrology)
Hockenbery, David, M.D.
Professor
dhockenb@fhcrc.org
University of Washington, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Medicine (Gastroenterology)
Hurley, James, Ph.D.
Professor
jbhhh@uw.edu
University of Washington Biochemistry
Kwok, William, Ph.D.
Research Member
bkwok@benaroya.org
Benaroya Research Institute Endocrinology/Immunology
Lattemann, Dianne, Ph.D.
Research Professor
latte@uw.edu
University of Washington Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Ledoux, William, Ph.D.
Affiliate Associate Professor
wrledoux@uw.edu
University of Washington Mechanical Engineering, Orthopedics and Sports Medicine
Moon, Randall, Ph.D.
Professor
rtmoon@uw.edu
University of Washington Pharmacology
Nepom, Gerald, M.D., Ph.D.
Affiliate Professor
nepom@benaroyaresearch.org
Benaroya Research Institute, University of Washington Immune Tolerance Network, Medicine (Immunology)
Palmer, Jerry, M.D.
Professor
jerryp@medicine.washington.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Pihoker, Catherine, M.D.
Professor
cpihok@chmc.org
University of Washington, Children’s Hospital Pediatrics (Pediatric Endocrinology)
Reijonen, Helena, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Member
reijonen@benaroyaresearch.org
Benaroya Research Institute Endocrinology/Immunology
Ruohola-Baker, Hannele, Ph.D.
Professor
hannele@uw.edu
University of Washington Biochemistry, Biology and Genome Sciences
Sweet, Ian, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
isweet@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Taborsky, Gerald, Ph.D.
Research Professor
taborsky@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Wight, Thomas, Ph.D.
Professor
twight@benaroyaresearch.org
Hope Heart Matrix Biology Program, Benaroya Research Institute, University of Washington Pathology

If the DRC has supported your research in any way, please support us by citing the DRC grant number P30DK017047 in the acknowledgment section of your publications.

DRC Administrative Office, University of Washington Box 358285 | Phone: 206 764-2688 | FAX: 206 764-2693 | DERC@u.washington.edu

Copyright © 2012 University of Washington Diabetes Research Center Web Design by Blank Space