Etiology, Pathogenesis and Treatment of Type 1 Diabetes

Investigators have a strong history in research on type 1 diabetes. Their work covers a broad spectrum of studies including basic investigations of the underlying pathophysiology of this disorder, novel treatment approaches including islet transplantation, clinical trials to prevent the disease in high risk individuals and preserve beta-cell function in new onset patients, and large scale epidemiologic investigations. Basic studies are conducted in spontaneously diabetic animals including the NOD mouse, HLA-humanized mice and the BB rat. Affiliate investigators are active investigators in this area and the DRC Cores, and are essential to the success of their research. In addition, investigators doing clinical trials in type 1 diabetes are listed in the Clinical Trials and Epidemiologic Studies Research Base.

Affiliates List

Affiliate Name Institution Department
Blau, Anthony, M.D.
Professor
tblau@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Hematology/Oncology)
Buckner, Jane, M.D.
Member and Associate Director/ Clinical Assistant Professor
jbuckner@uw.edu
Benaroya Research Institute, University of Washington Medicine (Rheumatology)
Cirulli, Vincenzo, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
vcirulli@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition)
Crisa, Laura, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
lcrisa@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition)
Greenbaum, Carla, M.D.
Clinical Associate Professor
cjgreen@benaroyaresearch.org
Benaroya Research Institute, Diabetes Research Program Medicine
Hagopian, William, M.D., Ph.D.
Scientific Director, Clinical Associate Professor
wah@uw.edu
Pacific Northwest Research Institute, University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology and Nutrition)
Hampe, Christiane, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
champe@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Kwok, William, Ph.D.
Research Member
bkwok@benaroya.org
Benaroya Research Institute Endocrinology/Immunology
Moon, Randall, Ph.D.
Professor
rtmoon@uw.edu
University of Washington Pharmacology
Nepom, Gerald, M.D., Ph.D.
Affiliate Professor
nepom@benaroyaresearch.org
Benaroya Research Institute, University of Washington Immune Tolerance Network, Medicine (Immunology)
Palmer, Jerry, M.D.
Professor
jerryp@medicine.washington.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Pihoker, Catherine, M.D.
Professor
cpihok@chmc.org
University of Washington, Children’s Hospital Pediatrics (Pediatric Endocrinology)
Reijonen, Helena, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Member
reijonen@benaroyaresearch.org
Benaroya Research Institute Endocrinology/Immunology
Ruohola-Baker, Hannele, Ph.D.
Professor
hannele@uw.edu
University of Washington Biochemistry, Biology and Genome Sciences
Sweet, Ian, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
isweet@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Wight, Thomas, Ph.D.
Professor
twight@benaroyaresearch.org
Hope Heart Matrix Biology Program, Benaroya Research Institute, University of Washington Pathology

If the DRC has supported your research in any way, please support us by citing the DRC grant number P30DK017047 in the acknowledgment section of your publications.

DRC Administrative Office, University of Washington Box 358285 | Phone: 206 764-2688 | FAX: 206 764-2693 | DERC@u.washington.edu

Copyright © 2012 University of Washington Diabetes Research Center Web Design by Blank Space