Pathophysiology and Treatment of Type 2 Diabetes

Basic, clinical and translational research on the pathophysiology of type 2 diabetes has long been a major focus of investigators across many departments at the University of Washington. The quality of the research continues to be outstanding and is enhanced by the entry of a number of new young investigators into this area. Close collaboration between members of the faculty at the University of Washington as well as with faculty at other institutions is an additional strength of the work in this area. Affiliate investigators are funded for work in this area and use the DRC Cores extensively.

Affiliates

Affiliate Name Institution Department
Aguilar-Bryan, Lydia, M.D., Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
lbryan@pnri.org
Pacific Northwest Research Institute Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Babenko, Andrey, M.D.
Research Associate Professor
ababenko@pnri.org
Pacific Northwest Research Institute Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
Bothwell, Mark, Ph.D.
Professor
mab@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Physiology & Biophysics)
Bryan, Joseph, Ph.D.
Principal Scientist
jbryan@pnri.org
Pacific Northwest Research Institute Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Chow, Eric, M.D., M.P.H.
Acting Assistant Professor
ericchow@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Hematology/Oncology)
Conley, Kevin, Ph.D.
Professor
kconley@uw.edu
University of Washington, Radiology and the Center for Bioengineering Radiology
Hull, Rebecca, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
rhull@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Ioannou, George, M.D.
Assistant Professor
georgei@medicine.washington.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Gastroenterology)
Kahn, Steven, M.B., Ch.B.
Professor
skahn@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Koh, Duk-Su, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
koh@uw.edu
University of Washington Physiology and Biophysics
Kratz, Mario, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
mkratz@uw.edu
University of Washington, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Medicine (Epidemiology)
Ladiges, Warren, D.V.M., M.S.
Professor
wladiges@uw.edu
University of Washington Comparative Medicine
Paramsothy, Bobbie, M.D., M.S.
Assistant Professor
nmbob@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Cardiology)
Quinn, Lebris, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
quinnl@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Gerontology & Geriatric Medicine)
Robertson, Paul, M.D.
Clinical Professor
rpr@pnri.org
Pacific Northwest Research Institute, University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Scharenberg, Andrew, M.D.
Professor
andrewms@uw.edu
University of Washington Pediatrics, Immunology
Scott, John, Ph.D.
Professor
scottjdw@uw.edu
University of Washington Pharmacology
Shen, Amy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
amyshen@uw.edu
University of Washington Mechanical Engineering
Utzschneider, Kristina, M.D.
Assistant Professor
kutzschn@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)
Zraika, Sakeneh, Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor
zraikas@uw.edu
University of Washington Medicine (Metabolism, Endocrinology & Nutrition)

If the DRC has supported your research in any way, please support us by citing the DRC grant number P30DK017047 in the acknowledgment section of your publications.

DRC Administrative Office, University of Washington Box 358285 | Phone: 206 764-2688 | FAX: 206 764-2693 | DERC@u.washington.edu

Copyright © 2012 University of Washington Diabetes Research Center Web Design by Blank Space