English MATTERS — SPRING 2010

Alumni News

Heather (Doran) Barbieri (B.A. ’85) has published her second novel, The Lace Makers of Glenmara (Harpers, 2009). She is also the author of Snow in July (Soho, 2004).

Todd Borlik (Ph.D. ’08) is an assistant professor of English at Bloomsburg University.

Stacie Cassarino (M.A. ’00) published her first book of poems, Zero at the Bone (New Issues Press, 2009). She is working towards her Ph.D. in English at UCLA.

Yu-jung Chang (Ph.D. ’09) is an assistant professor in the Department of Foreign Languages and Literature at National Tsing Hua University.

Brian Christian (M.F.A. ’08) was recently a resident fellow at Yaddo and at the McDowell Colony. In addition, Doubleday will publish his first book, The Most Human Human, which chronicles his experiences competing against computers in the annual Turing Test.

Sonya Chung’s (M.F.A. ’98) first novel, Long For This World, will be published spring 2010 by Scribner. She will be appearing at Powell’s City of Books in Portland, OR (April 5, 7:30 p.m.), at Hugo House in Seattle (April 6, 8:00 p.m.), and at Seattle’s Elliot Bay Books (April 7, 7:00 p.m.). She teaches writing at New York University and in the Gotham Writers’ Workshop.

picture of Heidi Coleman
Heidi Lewis Coleman

Heidi Lewis Coleman (B.A. ’80) studied art at Parsons School of Art Design and the New York School of Design, both in New York City. She became a juried member of the National Association of Women Artists in 2000, and received the Mayor’s Award from Mayor Dan Mallow of Stamford, CT, as one of Stamford’s “Art Treasures,” in recognition of her commitment to the arts. Her last show in Washington State was a retrospective of her work in Yakima’s Allied Arts Center Gallery during the summer of 2007. Please visit www.heidilewiscoleman.com for more information.

Jonathon Crimmins (M.F.A. ’03) is a lecturer in the English Department of Texas Christian University.

Maura K. Deering (B.A. ’91) is a founding partner of Baran & Deering, PLLC, a new environmental and land use law firm. In spring 2009, she completed the Certificate Program in Environmental Law and Regulation at the UW School of Law. For more information, please visit http://sites.google.com/site/barandeeringpllc.

Reginald Dyck (Ph.D. ’90) is a professor of English at Capital University in Bexley, Ohio. He is the co-editor of Crisscrossing Borders in Literature of the American West (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009).

Keith Feldman (Ph.D. ’08) is an assistant professor of Ethnic Studies at the University of California – Berkeley.

Ronald Fuentes (Ph.D. ’09) is instructional assistant professor of applied linguistics and assistant director of the Intensive English Program at the University of Mississippi – Oxford.

Matthew Gallant (B.A. ’82) earned an M.F.A. in Creative Writing (Fiction) from Seattle Pacific University in 2007.

Dokubo Goodhead (Ph.D. ’08) is a visiting professor of English at Spelman College.

Andrew Gottlieb (M.F.A. ’00) won the First Prize in American Fiction from New Rivers Press for his short story “Stickmen.” The story will be published in American Fiction, Volume Eleven: The Best Unpublished Short Stories by Emerging Writers (forthcoming 2010).

Bruce Greeley (B.A. ’90) published his book Novel Novel (Who’s Got the Novel?) in 2009. The book was written during the 2008 National Novel Writing Month, www.nanowrimo.org.

Will Hamlin (Ph.D. ’89) was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship for 2008-09 in support of his project Montaigne’s English Journey, a study of the reception and appropriation of Montaigne’s essays in early modern England. He is the Director of Graduate Studies and a professor of English at Washington State University.

Lois V. Harris’s (B.A. ’86) second children’s book, Charlie Russell: Tale-Telling Cowboy Artist, is being published in February 2010 by Pelican.

Jon Hauss (Ph.D. ’90) has been recognized with the Lyle E. Gibson Distinguished Teaching Award at California State University – Dominguez Hills, where he is an associate professor of English.

2008-2009 Ph.D.s

Todd Borlik (John Coldewey, director)

Keith Feldman (Alys Weinbaum & Nikhil Singh, co-directors)

Ronald Fuentes (Yasuko Kanno & Sandra Silberstein, co-directors)

Dokubo Melford Goodhead (Laura Chrisman, director)

Michelle LaFrance (John Webster & Gail Stygall, co-directors)

Matthew Levay (Jessica Burstein, director)

Raymond A. Oenbring (George Dillon, director)

Shawna Shapiro (Juan Guerra, director)

Heather Stansbury (Nicholas Halmi, director)

Lisa Thornhill (Juan Guerra, director)

Honni van Rijswijk (Thomas Lockwood, director)

Duane Kelly (B.A. ’74) was selected to participate in the 2009 Seven Devils Playwrights Conference with his latest play, “The Things With Feathers.” His was one of six plays selected out of several hundred submissions. Kelly is currently working on a new play with an 18th-century commedia dell’arte dimension.

Michelle LaFrance (Ph.D. ’09) is a writing fellow in the Department of English at Drew University.

Kimberly Lamm (Ph.D. ’07) received a post-doctoral fellowship in Duke University’s Women’s Studies Program for 2009-10.

Matthew LeVay (Ph.D. ’09) is a preceptor in Expository Writing at Harvard University.

Becka McKay’s (M.F.A. ’98) first book of poems, A Meteorologist in the Promised Land, will be published by Shearsman in 2010; her translation from Hebrew of the novel Laundry was published by Autumn Hill Books in 2008. She is an assistant professor of translation and creative writing at Florida Atlantic University.

Peter Mountford (M.F.A. ’06) won a 2010 Elizabeth George Foundation Grant and a 2010 Seattle CityArtist Grant.

Raymond Oenbring (Ph.D. ’09) is an assistant professor in the School of English Studies at the College of the Bahamas, Nassau.

Dena Rosko (B.A. ’01) is pursuing a Master of Arts in Communication and Leadership Studies at Gonzaga University and just celebrated her 4th anniversary with husband James.

Michael Ryan (B.A. ’06) is the Dean of Hospitality and Service Occupations in the Northwest Wine Academy at South Seattle Community College.

Jentery Sayers (current Ph.D. student) was honored with a 2010 K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award by the Association of American Colleges and Universities.

Shawna Shapiro (Ph.D. ’09) is an assistant professor of writing at Middlebury College.

Ji Y. Shin (B.A. ’08) is teaching English to university students in Japan.

Emily Thompson (B.A. ’08) is a conversation assistant for two elementary schools in Calatayud, Spain.

Steven Tobias (Ph.D. ’07) is an assistant professor of English at Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi.

Cody Walker (Ph.D. ’04) is a lecturer and advisor in the Department of English, University of Michigan – Ann Arbor.

Jason Whitmarsh’s (M.F.A. ’99) book of poetry, Tomorrow’s Living Room (Utah State UP, 2009), was named the 2009 May Swenson Poetry Award Winner.

to home page
top of page