English MATTERS — SPRING 2010

Faculty Notes


Colleen McElroy's most recent collection of poems, Sleeping with the Moon, received a 2008 PEN/Oakland National Literary Award. She is currently on the faculty of Cave Canem Poetry Foundation and a contributor to the International Arts in Society Forum.

Robert Stevick has been busy since retiring in 1998, with 14 articles and essays having been published and a star turn as the voice of Hrothgar in the three–CD set, Beowulf: A Dramatic Reading in the Original Language (The Chaucer Studio, 2000). He has five articles on Anglo-Saxon linguistics, poetry, and art forthcoming in 2010.

James W. Tollefson is currently teaching in the Department of Media, Communication, and Culture and in the Graduate School of Public Policy and Social Research at International Christian University in Tokyo, a highly selective liberal arts university that focuses on language, media, communication, and international studies. He is also affiliated with the Institute for Educational Research and Service in Tokyo.

David Wagoner's book A Map of the Night (U Illinois P, 2008) won the 2009 Washington State Book Award for poetry.


Anis Bawarshi

Anis Bawarshi is the new Program Profiles Co-Editor for the journal Composition Forum, chairs the Modern Language Association’s Mina P. Shaughnessy Prize Selection Committee for best book in Rhetoric and Composition Studies, and is on the editorial board for the Studies in Writing and Rhetoric series, sponsored by the Conference on College Composition and Communication and Southern Illinois University Press.

The book Haydn and the Performance of Rhetoric (U Chicago P, 2007), to which Marshall Brown contributed a chapter, was awarded the AMS Ruth A. Solie Award.

E. Laurie George has been promoted to Principal Lecturer.

Washington and Lee University conferred upon Charles Johnson the Doctor of Letters, honoris causa, in June 2009.

In addition to winning a MacArthur Grant, Heather McHugh was profiled on PBS’s NewsHour and on NPR’s All Things Considered.

2009 teaching awards

2009 Department Teaching Awards: Brian Reed and Norman Wacker (Faculty) and Heather Stansbury (Acting Instructor)

<cite>Enough About You</cite> book cover

David Shields edited the fall and spring 2009 issues of the Seattle Review, and a few essays from these issues will be included in the Norton anthology that he is editing, Death: Contemporary Writers Confront the Inevitable (expected December 2010). His book Enough About You: Notes Toward the New Autobiography was reissued in paperback by Counterpoint in 2009.

picture of Maya Sonenberg
Maya Sonenberg
Photo by Jennifer Richardson

Maya Sonenberg received a King County 4Culture Individual Artists Project Award in spring 2009.

Shawn Wong received grants from the Seattle Office of Arts and Cultural Affairs and from King County’s 4Culture Program to support work on his new novel, The Ancient and Occupied Heart of Greg Li.

Faculty Books

Anis Bawarshi and Mary Jo Reiff, Genre: An Introduction to History, Theory, Research, and Pedagogy (Parlor Press, 2010).

Kathleen Blake, Pleasures of Benthamism: Victorian Literature, Utility, Political Economy (Oxford UP, 2009).

Marshall Brown, The Tooth that Nibbles at the Soul: Essays on Music and Poetry (U Washington P, 2010).

Wayne Burns (Emeritus), A Panzaic Theory of the Novel (Howe Street Press, 2009).

Gillian Harkins, Everybody’s Family Romance: Reading Incest in Neoliberal America (U Minnesota P, 2009).

Michael Boylen and Charles Johnson, Philosophy: An Innovative Introduction: Fictive Narrative, Primary Texts, and Responsive Writing (Westview Press, 2010).

Heather McHugh, Upgraded to Serious (Copper Canyon, 2009).

Sarat Kumar Mukhopadhyay, The Cat Under the Stairs. Translated with Robert McNamara (Eastern Washington UP, 2009).

David Shields, Reality Hunger: A Manifesto (Knopf, 2010).

Pimone Triplett, Rumors: Poems (Triquarterly, 2009).

to home page
top of page