phi beta kappa

The following University of Washington English majors were recently invited to join Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest and most respected undergraduate honors organization in the United States. PBK has fostered and recognized excellence in the liberal arts and sciences since 1776. The Society's emblem, a key, is widely recognized as a symbol of academic achievement.  Requirements for election are established by each local PBK chapter.  The requirements are meant to ensure that members have had a quality liberal education. Criteria include grades as well as a breadth of upper-division course work spanning more than one academic area.

Invitations:  Students do not apply to Phi Beta Kappa.  Instead, the Registrar’s Office provides the UW PBK chapter with the transcripts of all students who meet the credit and GPA requirements.  The chapter then determines whether the general education and upper-division breadth requirements are met.  If so, the student is mailed an offer of election.

Phi Beta Kappa logo


(Note: PBK invitations are issued quarterly; this list will continue to be updated through the 2014-15 academic year.)

Isabelle Aelis Ragail Edwards
Devyn Lorraine Patmore
Lauren Selby
Elizabeth Li Tao
Cara Yen Than


Sarah Nicole Austin
Christina Victoria Bleu
John William Chelgren
Marianna Ariel Colescurtis
Rebecca Lynne Eskildsen
Alisa Jion Kim
Stephanie E King
Cali Rose Kopczick
Bianca Jean Lacaille
Dandi Meng
Grace Ellen Muzny
Sara Senia Patton
Reed James Perkins
Shange Elizabeth Purnell
Bailey Elyse Rahn
Stephanie Stamatia Sampson
Whitney Paige Schmidt
Katie Grace Schorr
Heather Marie Smith
William Connor Smith
Pattamon Wattanawanitchakorn
Nicholas Alexander Weber


Jen Lynn Altschul
Sean Thomas Anderson
Jordan Taylor Augustine
Zoe Barker-Aderem
Wanda Franziska Bertram
Allison Elice Cloud
Olivia Maria de Recat
Allison Anne Draper
Taylor Lynn Gray
Matthew Charles Hinea
Stephanie Valentine Kastner
Nicholas Benjamin Katleman
Noah Jacob Lee-Engel
Timothy Josef Maison
Nicole Grace Mendoza Masangkay
Emelia Hope Nitz-Ritter
Kimberly Kartika Hendarn Ong
Jeffrey Chun Yiu Ou
Vincent Quang Pham
Brianna Reneé Salinas
Sydney Kaye Sartin
Zoe Schuler
Lindsay Nicole Szymanski
Emily Phuong Tran
Jordan Douglas Whitlock
Ann Kristine Wilson


Christopher Michael Andersson
Heather Dawn Bervid
Louise Rae Choate
Sarah J. Cole
Devon Noelle Coultas
Kevin Holland Depner
Caitlin Elizabeth Donnelly
Amy Christine Doran
Julie Feng
Andrew Ronald Gospe
Shelby Morgan Handler
Dustin Cody Hansen
Samuel Kolodezh
Hannah Elle Krajnik
Victoria Tolentino Parker
Milan Haresh Patel
Leah Kathryn Rau
Shane Christopher Sherod-Clyburn
Griffin Thomas Smith
Kendra Leah Sowers
Lindsay Nicole Szymanski
Katherine Sarah Tacke
Kathleen Marjorie Taylor
Ajjana Thairrungroj
Galina Ursachii
Kylie Irene Walchuk


David Christian Bahr
Rachel Nicole Brow
Merzamie Sison Cagaitan
Anna G. Carlson
Kelsi Shay Cunniff
Chelsie Marie Doherty
Monica Rose Dvorak
Molly Jeanette Gasperini
Nicole Perrine Guenther
Stephanie Yi-Farng Hsieh
Robin Shea Jeffrey
Emily Anne Johnson
Meredith Colleen Kniest
Katie Alexandra Kowalski
Julian Bryant Reinhart Kusche-Robinson
Mikk Olaf Lukk
Ferris Anthony Lupino
Jessie Weiling McMillan
Eric Chan-Sung Pak
Jacob Lane Rosok
Molly Huff Slusher
Emilie Virginia Smith
Shay Elizabeth Snyder
Samara Lynn Surface
Julianna Josephine Sweeney
Lori Kathryn Theis
Jennifer Ruth Vandergrift
Olga A. Vilkotskaya
Andrew Patrick Weedin
Tessa Shea Whitehead
Stephanie Rose Whitney
Kenneth Lani Hoy Sau Yuen
Timothy James Zimmermann

For prior years, see the Phi Beta Kappa, Alpha Chapter archives.

to home page
top of page