School of Public Health

Awards & Honors

Distinguished Thesis Award

The UW Graduate School’s annual Distinguished Thesis Award recognizes exceptional research and scholarship by graduate students at UW.

Erica Lokken

Master’s student, Erica Lokken, was selected to receive the award in the Biological and Life Sciences category. Using data from a cohort of female sex workers in Mombasa, Kenya, Lokken's thesis demonstrated a strong association between recent bacterial vaginosis (BV), a common female reproductive tract condition, and acquisition of Mycoplasma genitalium, a sexually transmitted pathogen. Lokken will receive a $500 prize.

F31 Research Fellowship Grants

F31 research fellowship grants from the National Institutes of Health: The multi-year awards are for about $41,000 per year to cover the trainee's personnel costs and tuition.

Gloria C. Chi

Methylomic and Transcriptomic Insights Linking Air Pollution and Atherosclerosis

Griffith Bell

Air pollution and high density lipoprotein structure and function

Michael Tesauro Young

Air Pollution and Microvasculature: Cellular Adhesion and Retinal Vessels in MESA

Sarah Tyler Roberts

Gender-Based Violence and HIV Risk: Mediating Pathways and Prevention Strategies

Magnuson Scholar

The prestigious Magnuson Scholarship is awarded each year to one student in each of the six University of Washington Health Sciences schools. Selection criteria are academic performance and the student’s potential for contribution to research in the health sciences. The late Senator Warren G. Magnuson, in whose name the program was established, was committed to improving the nation’s health through biomedical research and was instrumental in establishing the National Institutes of Health, Medicare, and Medicaid during his long career in the U.S. Senate. 

The purpose of this program is to recognize graduate students with outstanding potential for research in the health sciences. The Program began in 1993 and is funded from a $2 million endowment from the Warren G. Magnuson Institute for Biomedical Research and Health Professions Training.

Sylvia Badon

Outstanding Student Award

Outstanding Student Award winners are selected by each department, at both the master’s level and the doctoral level, for exemplary scholarship and dedication to public health.

Kerry N. Nancuch - Master's Student

SPH Endowed Fellowship

The School of Public Health Endowed Fellowship awards $5,000 to graduate students in the School who demonstrate outstanding academic merit and leadership potential in the field of public health.

Young Investigator Award

Dr. Kristjana Ásbjörnsdóttir

Dr. Kristjana Ásbjörnsdóttir received the International AIDS society (IAS) Lange-Van Tongeren young investigator prize for her research on HIV-infected infants and their response to antiretroviral therapy. The $2,000 award was given at the recent IAS Conference on HIV Pathogensis, Treatment & Prevention in Vancouver, B.C. and was based on Ásbjörnsdóttir's thesis. Her abstract received the highest scores out of more than 2,500 entries on the Clinical Science track. The prize was jointly funded by the IAS and the French agency ANRS.