Epi Soul logo image Epi Soul logo image
  1. UW Home |
  2. SPH  |
  3. Other Departments |
Loading
online giving





































Physical Activity, Obesity and Diabetes

Obesity and diabetes are major causes of morbidity and mortally in the United States. Evidence from several studies indicates that obesity and weigh gain are associated with an increased risk of diabetes and that intentional weight loss reduces the risk that over-weight people will develop diabetes.

It is also well established that genetic factors play a role in both obesity and diabetes, and it is likely that genetic factors interact with dietary and other environmental factors to affect risk of both conditions. The following core faculty are working on research projects that address these topics, and several also offer courses that are relevant for students with an interest in physical activity, obesity and diabetes.

Click on faculty name to go to their homepage

Core Faculty:  
Shirley A. A.Beresford, PhD beresfrd@u.washington.edu
adamdrew@u.washington.edu
duncag@u.washington.edu
Daniel A. Enquobahrie, PhD danenq@u.washington.edu
Mario Kratz, PhD mkratz@fhcrc.org
Alan R. Kristal DPH, MPH akristal@fhcrc.org
Johanna W. Lampe, PhD jlampe@fhcrc.org
Alyson Littman, PhD, MPH alyson@u.washington.edu
Gayle Reiber, PhD, MPH greiber@u.washington.edu
   
Adjunct Faculty  
Edward J. Boyko, MD, MPH eboyko@u.washington.edu

 Relevant Courses

Training Grants:

 

For more information on courses go to:


 

Areas of Faculty Research:

 

 

This page was last updated on October 29, 2014