Faculty

Luke R. Bergmann
Ph.D., Minnesota,  2012, Assistant Professor
Nature-Society relations; political economy; globalization; complexity; critical geovisualization; China
website
lrb9 [at] uw [dot] edu

Michael P. Brown
Ph.D., British Columbia, 1994, Professor
North American Editor, Social & Cultural Geography
urban, political and health geography, sexuality, urban politics, political theory
website
michaelb@u.washington.edu

Kam Wing Chan
Ph.D., Toronto, 1988, Professor
urban and economic development; migration; labor markets; China
website

kwchan@u.washington.edu

Mark Ellis
Ph.D., Indiana, 1988, Professor
immigration, internal migration,  race and ethnicity; labor markets
website

ellism@u.washington.edu

Sarah Elwood
Ph.D., Minnesota, 2000, Professor
relational poverty, digital social inequality, critical GIS/geoweb studies, urban & political geography
website

selwood [at] uw [dot] edu

Kim England
Ph.D., Ohio State, 1988, Professor
urban, social, political and feminist  geographies; labor markets; social and feminist theories
website

england@u.washington.edu

James W. Harrington
Ph.D., Washington, 1983, Professor
Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Professor of Interdisciplinary Arts & Science
Professor, Urban Studies, University of Washington
industries; industrial location; regional economic development; international trade
website
jwh@u.washington.edu

Steve Herbert
Ph.D., UCLA, 1995, Professor
Director,  Law, Societies & Justice
urban and political geography; geography and the law; social control in the city; geography, the law & the environment
website

skherb@u.washington.edu

Lucy A. Jarosz
Ph.D., UC-Berkeley, 1990, Professor and Chair
geography of food and agriculture; environmental and landscape change; development theory; Africa
website
jarosz@u.washington.edu

Victoria A. Lawson
Ph.D., Ohio State, 1986, Professor
development theory; migration; Latin America; social theory; economic and employment restructuring
website
lawson@u.washington.edu

Jonathan D. Mayer
Ph.D., Michigan, 1977
Professor Geography, Epidemiology and International Health
Adjunct Professor, Dept. of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, Dept. of Family Medicine, and Health Services
Clinical Faculty, Travel/Tropical Medicine, UW Medical Center
Co-Director, Undergraduate Program in Public Health
medical geography; infectious disease ecology and epidemiology; HIV in sub-Saharan Africa; HIV, poverty, and development
website

jmayer@u.washington.edu

Katharyne Mitchell
Ph.D., UC-Berkeley, 1993, Professor
migration; urbanization; social theory; philosophies of education; critical race theory
website
kmitch@u.washington.edu

Timothy L. Nyerges
Ph.D., Ohio State, 1980, Professor
Affiliate Faculty, UW Interdisciplinary PhD Program in Urban Design and Planning
Geographic Information Science and society, public participation GIS and decision support, land use, transportation and water resources
website
nyerges@uw.edu

Matthew Sparke
Ph.D., British Columbia, 1996, Professor
Adjunct Faculty, Jackson School of International Studies Professor, Department of Global Health
critical geopolitics; political and economic geography; social theory including post-colonial theory and feminist and anti-racist theory; U.S. and Canada
website
sparke@u.washington.edu

Suzanne Davies Withers
Ph.D., UCLA, 1992, Associate Professor
quantitative and longitudinal methods; poverty; urban housing; population; spatial demography
website
swithers@u.washington.edu

Craig ZumBrunnen
Ph.D., UC-Berkeley, 1973, Professor
Faculty Member, Russian, East European and Central Asia Studies Program and Middle East Studies Program, Jackson School of International Studies
natural resource management and conservation; environmental quality problems; methods of resource analysis; physical geography; former Soviet Union; modeling of human impact in natural systems
website
craigzb@u.washington.edu

Resident Faculty Emereti

William B. Beyers
Ph.D., Washington, 1967, Professor
regional science; economic geography; geography of producer services; regional analysis; geography of the Pacific Northwest
website

beyers@u.washington.edu

Richard Morrill
Ph.D., Washington, 1959, Professor Emeritus
spatial organization; migration; diffusion and population; regional planning and development; inequality
website

morrill@u.washington.edu

Kim England

Adjunct and Affiliate Faculty 

Christian Anderson
Ph.D., CUNY Graduate Center, 2012. Adjunct Faculty (also,  Dept. of Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences, UW Bothell)
everyday urban practices; ethnography; globalization; gentrification; violence, society, ethics & human behavior
Canderson2@uwb.edu

Kathleen E. Braden
Ph.D., Washington, 1980, Affiliate Professor (also Department of Geography, Seattle Pacific University)
Russian studies; resources and technology
kbraden@spu.edu

Richard S. Conway
Ph.D., Pennsylvania, 1976, Affiliate Professor
Regional economic modeling

Marina Elena Garcia
Ph.D., Brown, 2001. Adjunct Faculty (also, Assoc. Professor and Director, Comparative History of Ideas Program, UW, Seattle)
animal studies; anthropology; Indigenous studies; Latin America; urban politics
meg71@uw.edu

Benjamin Gardner
PhD., UC Berkeley, 2007, Adjunct Professor. (also Assistant Professor, Cultural, Global & Environmental Studies, UW Bothell)
cultural politics & the environment; political economy of development; post-colonial states
gardnerb@uw.edu

Michael Goodchild
Ph.D, McMaster University, 1969, Adjunct Professor (also,  Professor Emeritus, UC Santa Barbara)
GIS; spatial analysis; uncertainty in geographic data

Yehuda Hayuth
Ph.D., Washington, 1978, Affiliate Professor
Transportation geography
website
hayuth@uvm.haifa.ac.il

Jin-Kyu Jung
Ph.D., SUNY, Buffalo, 2007. Adjunct Professor  (also  Assistant Professor, Environmental Studies, UW Bothell)
race, class, and gender, qualitative GIS & qualitative geovisualization
jkjung@uw.edu

Lawrence M. Knopp, Jr.
Ph.D., Iowa, 1989, Adjunct Professor
Sexuality and space; feminisms; political and cultural geographies; urban and regional studies
website
knoppl@u.washington.edu

Santiago Lopez
Ph.D., Univ. Texas, Austin, 2008. Adjunct Professor  (also, School of International Studies, Geography and the Environment, UW Bothell)
GIS; society, technology and the environment; merging social and spatial theory
slopez@uwb.edu

Jose Antonio Lucero
Ph.D., Princeton, 2002; Adjunct Faculty (also, Chair, Latin America and Caribbean Studies Dept., Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies, UW, Seattle)
Indigenous politics; social movements; borderlands
jal26@uw.edu