NEWS 2015

October 2015 New UW Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine Division Head
The Department of Medicine is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Wayne McCormick as the new head of the Division of Gerontology & Geriatric Medicine, effective immediately more


HRSA Award The Division received a large ($848,000) 3 year award from HRSA for the Geriatric Workforce Enhancement Program (Elizabeth Phelan MD, MS is PI) to improve care for older adults through integrating geriatrics into primary care, provider training, and community-based programs to improve health outcomes.


Award Renewals The Division has been awarded renewal of their Hartford Center of Excellence and a Hartford Beeson/ChangeAGEnts Award (PI May J Reed). The Hartford CoE Scholars are: Angela Hanson, Joe C Huang and Kay Ritchey. Funded projects will focus on improving the evaluation and management of older adults seen in the ED or admitted for trauma.


Naomi Avery (UW internal medicine R-3 and incoming fellow) won 3rd place in the resident poster session at the American Geriatrics Society Meeting in National Harbor Maryland.  Her poster entitled “Process Evaluation of a Fall Risk Screening and Management Protocol in a Pharmacist Run Anticoagulation Clinic” was authored with Drs. Bennett and Phelan from our faculty and clinical pharmacists Carol Crawford and Theresa O’Young.


Wayne McCormick MD, MPH, Professor of Geriatric Medicine completed his term as the President of the American Geriatric Society and transitioned into his new role as Chair of the AGS Board of Directors.


William Banks has received the 2014 Normal Cousins Award from the Psychoneuroimmune Research Society. He was also the The Jim Flood Memorial Alzheimer’s Disease Lecturer at the Saint Louis University Summer Geriatric Institute and The Key Note Speaker at the 5th International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP) Pharmaceutical Sciences World Congress, Melbourne, Australia


May J. Reed (PI) with Steve Mitchell, Medley Gatewood (ED), Paul Sutton (GIM) and Carol Crawford (Pharm) were awarded a Hartford Change AGEnt Project Award for Improving Prescribing for Older Adults in the Emergency Department.


Wayne McCormick MD, MPH, Professor of Geriatric Medicine and President of the American Geriatrics Society was a visiting professor at the University of Missouri where he gave a talk titled: “Long-term Care in China" for their 24th Annual Conference on Caring for the Frail Elderly.

Congratulations to our second year Geriatric Medicine fellows on their Research Awards:

Dr. Katherine (Kay) Ritchey has received a VA Special Fellowship and Dr. Joe C. Huang has been awarded a Biology of Aging Training Grant Fellowship.