2016-2017 Schedule

2016 Autumn Quarter 
(first day of classes 28 September)

Friday 21 October 2016 3:30 PM EGL 001   
Paul J. Yoder, PhD, Vanderbilt University
"Why does more treatment help children with Down syndrome learn to talk?”
Friday 28 October 2016 3:30 PM CD 150
Joseph A. Sisneros, PhD, UW Departments of Psychology and Biology
"Neuroendocrine and Morphological Adaptations for Hearing in the Plainfin Midshipman Fish"
Friday 4 November 2016 3:30 PM EGL 001
Harvey M. Sussman, PhD, University of Texas - Austin
"Why the Left Hemisphere is Dominant for Speech Production: Connecting the Dots"
Friday 2 December 2016 4:00 PM EGL 001
Lauren M. Cycyk, PhD & CCC-SLP, University of Oregon - Eugene
"Early Language Experiences of Children from Mexican Immigrant Backgrounds: Implications for Intervention"
Friday 9 November 2016 3:30 PM EGL 001
Takashi Mitsuya, PhD, UW Department of Speech & Hearing Sciences
"Speech production target and precision of speech production control"

2017 Winter Quarter 
(first day of classes 3 January)

Friday 6 January 2017 3:30 PM EGL 001
Christi Miller, PhD, UW Department of Speech & Hearing Sciences
"Maximizing Outcomes for Aided Adults"
Thursday 12 January 2017 1:00 PM CD 150
Gwenaëlle Géléoc, PhD
Boston Children's Hospital and Harvard Medical School
"Gene therapy restores auditory and vestibular function in a mouse model of Usher syndrome, type IC"
Friday 13 January 2017 3:30 PM EGL 001
Andrew Brown, PhD, University of Colorado - Denver
"Spatial Hearing with Degraded Signals: Solutions and Challenges"
Friday 20 January 2017 3:30 PM EGL 001
Douglas Shiller, PhD, l’Université de Montréal
"Perceptual adaptation and speech motor control: A new perspective on some well known mechanisms"
Monday 23 January 2017 3:30 PM EGL 001
Alan Kan, PhD, University of Wisconsin - Madison
"Improving the Hearing Abilities of Listeners with Bilateral Cochlear Implants"
Friday 27 January 2017 3:30 PM EGL 001
Srikanta Mishra, PhD, New Mexico State University
"Auditory Efferent Mechanisms in Children"
Friday 3 February 2017 3:30 PM EGL 001
Akira Omaki, PhD, UW Department of Linguistics
"Developing incrementality in comprehension of wh-questions"
Friday 10 February 2017 3:30 PM EGL 001
Michael Burns, PhD & CCC-SLP, UW Dept of Speech and Hearing Sciences
Carolyn Baylor, PhD & CCC-SLP, UW Dept of Rehabilitation Medicine
"Training medical and allied health students how to communicate with patients with communication disorders: Simulation and training outcomes"
Friday 10 March 2017 3:30 PM EGL 001
Ione Fine, PhD, UW Department of Psychology
"Do you hear what I see? How blind individuals understand the auditory world."

2017 Spring Quarter
(first day of classes 27 March)

Friday 31 March 2017 3:30 PM EGL 001
Beverly Wright, PhD, Northwestern University
"Enhancing perceptual learning"
Friday 21 April 2017 3:30 PM EGL 001
Paige Stringer, MA, Global Foundation For Children With Hearing Loss
"A Global Impact for Children With Hearing Loss: Achieving Sustainability in Pediatric Audiology and Therapy Services in Developing Countries"
Friday 28 April 2017 3:30 PM CD 150
Jennifer Stone, PhD, UW Department of Otolaryngology
"Keeping the balance: Insights into maintenance and replacement of vestibular hair cells in mature mammals"
Friday 5 May 2017   CANCELLED
René H. Gifford, PhD, Vanderbilt University
"Bimodal hearing vs. bilateral cochlear implantation: auditory function and related hearing mechanisms"
Friday 19 May 2017 3:30 PM CD 150
Andrea M. Simmons, PhD, Brown University
"Noise-induced hearing losses (or lack thereof) in echolocating big brown bats"
Friday 26 May 2017 3:30 PM EGL 001
Gregory S. Hickok, PhD, University of California - Irvine
"Inside the Language Instinct: How the Brain Creates Language"
Friday 2 June 2017 3:30 PM HSB K069
    NOT Usual Location!
Sarah M.N. Woolley, PhD, Columbia University
"Tuning the Auditory System for Vocal Communication"


University of Washington, Box 357923, CHDD Clinic Building, Room CD176; Seattle, WA 98195-7923. 206.685.2962, FAX 206.616.1828, bloedel@u.washington.edu