Faculty

Jordanna Bailkin | bailkin@uw.edu

Professor, Jere L. Bacharach Endowed Professor in International Studies
Area of Specialization: Modern Britain, Modern Europe, Comparative Colonialisms

George Behlmer | behlmer@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Modern Britain, Social History of the Family, History of Medicine, Comparative Colonialisms

Arbella Bet-Shlimon | shlimon@uw.edu

Assistant Professor
Area of Specialization: Middle East, Comparative Colonialisms, Urban History

Elena I. Campbell | eicampb@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: Imperial Russia

Purnima Dhavan | pdhavan@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies, Howard and Frances Keller Endowed Professor in History
Area of Specialization: South Asia

Madeleine Yue Dong | yuedong@uw.edu

Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
Area of Specialization: Modern China

Patricia Ebrey | ebrey@uw.edu

Professor, Williams Family Endowed Professor in History
Area of Specialization: Early Imperial China, Song Dynasty

James Felak | felak@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Eastern Europe, Modern Europe

John M. Findlay | jfindlay@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: American West, Pacific Northwest

Christoph Giebel | giebel@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
Area of Specialization: Southeast Asia, Viet Nam

Susan A. Glenn | glenns@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Twentieth Century US Cultural, Social History

F. Mira Green | mirag@uw.edu

Lecturer
Area of Specialization: Ancient Rome, Ancient Greece

James Gregory | gregoryj@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Twentieth Century United States, Labor, Race, Politics

Laura J. Harkewicz | harkel1@uw.edu

Lecturer Part-Time
Area of Specialization: History of Science, Bioethics, History of Medicine, Atomic History and Culture

Kazumi Hasegawa | kazumih@uw.edu

Lecturer
Area of Specialization: Modern Japan

Bruce Hevly | bhevly@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: History of Science, Technology

Raymond Jonas | jonas@uw.edu

Professor, Colonel Donald W. Wiethuechter, USA Ret., Endowed Faculty Fellow in History
Area of Specialization: Europe and the Modern World

Moon-Ho Jung | mhjung@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: Race, Politics, Asian American History

Laurie Marhoefer | marl@uw.edu

Assistant Professor
Area of Specialization: Modern Germany, Sexuality, Weimar Republic

Debbie McNally | dcm9@uw.edu

Lecturer Part-Time
Area of Specialization: Early America, Nineteenth-Century U.S.

Matthew W. Mosca | mosca@uw.edu

Assistant Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
Area of Specialization: Late Imperial China, Inner Asia

Polly Myers | prmyers@uw.edu

Full-Time Lecturer, Integrated Social Sciences
Area of Specialization: Twentieth Century U.S., Capitalism, Business, Women, Gender, Sexuality

Devin E. Naar | denaar@uw.edu

Assistant Professor, Isaac Alhadeff Professor of Sephardic Studies, Sephardic Studies Program Chair
Area of Specialization: Modern Jewish History, Sephardic Jewry, Ottoman Empire and Greece, Transnational histories

Hwasook Nam | hsnam@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, James B. Palais Endowed Assistant Professor in Korea Studies
Area of Specialization: Modern Korea

Linda Nash | lnash@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Director, Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest, John Calhoun Smith Memorial Endowed Professor
Area of Specialization: Environmental History, Twentieth Century U.S., American West

Margaret O'Mara | momara@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: American Political History, Urban History, History of Capitalism

Mary O'Neil | oneilmr@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: Italian Renaissance, Reformation

Vicente L Rafael | vrafael@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Philippine, US, SE Asian Histories, Comparative Colonialism and Nationalism, Historiography

Joshua L. Reid | jlreid@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: American Indian History, NW Coast, North American West & Borderlands, Marine Environmental History

Nathan E Roberts | ner3@uw.edu

Lecturer Part-Time
Area of Specialization: Environmental History, U.S. Military History, American Indian History

Ileana Rodriguez-Silva | imrodrig@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: Latin America and the Caribbean

William Rorabaugh | rorabaug@uw.edu

Professor, Dio Richardson Endowed Professor
Area of Specialization: Nineteenth Century US, US Social History

Benjamin Schmidt | schmidtb@uw.edu

Professor, Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professor
Area of Specialization: Early Modern Europe, Cultural History, Early Modern Globalism, Comparative Colonialisms, Early Modern Spain and the Netherlands

Laurie Sears | lsears@uw.edu

Professor, Walker Family Endowed Professor in History
Area of Specialization: Indonesia, Southeast Asia, Comparative Colonialisms, Psychoanalysis and Colonialism, Historiography

Stephanie Smallwood | ses9@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: Atlantic World, Slavery

Robert Stacey | bstacey@uw.edu

Professor, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
Area of Specialization: Medieval Europe

Robin Chapman Stacey | rcstacey@uw.edu

Professor, Joff Hanauer Honors Professor in Western Civilization
Area of Specialization: Medieval Europe, Celtic History, Women, Gender

Lynn M. Thomas | lynnmt@uw.edu

Professor, Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professor
Area of Specialization: Africa, Comparative Colonialisms, Women, Gender

Phillip Thurtle | thurtle@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: History and Philosophy of Technology and Science

Charity Urbanski | urbanski@uw.edu

Senior Lecturer, Joff Hanauer Endowed Faculty Fellow
Area of Specialization: Medieval France and England, Vernacular Historiogaphy, Gender and Power

Joel Thomas Walker | jwalker@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: Late Antiquity, Ancient World, Middle East, Islamic World

Adam Warren | awarren2@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Area of Specialization: Latin America

Nathaniel Parker Weston | npw2@uw.edu

Lecturer Part-Time
Area of Specialization: Modern World, Comparative Colonialisms, Modern and Early Modern Europe, Southeast Asia

Anand Yang | aay@uw.edu

Professor, Chair, College of Arts and Sciences Term Professor
Area of Specialization: South Asia, Modern Asia, Comparative Colonialism, World History

Glennys Young | glennys@uw.edu

Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies, Jon Bridgman Endowed Professor
Area of Specialization: Russia, The Soviet Union, Communism, Spain, Historiography