Faculty

Jordanna Bailkin | bailkin@uw.edu

Professor, Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
Area of Specialization: Modern Britain, Modern Europe, Comparative Colonialisms

George Behlmer | behlmer@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Modern Britain, Social History of the Family, History of Medicine, Comparative Colonialisms

Arbella Bet-Shlimon | shlimon@uw.edu

Assistant Professor
Area of Specialization: Middle East, Comparative Colonialisms, Urban History

Stephanie Camp | stcamp@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Donald W. Logan Family Endowed Chair in American History
Area of Specialization: African American, Women & Gender, Slavery, Nineteenth Century United States

Elena Campbell | eicampb@uw.edu

Assistant Professor
Area of Specialization: Imperial Russia

Purnima Dhavan | pdhavan@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: South Asia

Madeleine Yue Dong | yuedong@uw.edu

Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
Area of Specialization: Modern China

Patricia Ebrey | ebrey@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Early Imperial China, Song Dynasty

James Felak | felak@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Eastern Europe, Modern Europe

John M. Findlay | jfindlay@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: American West, Pacific Northwest

Christoph Giebel | giebel@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Joint Appoinment: Jackson School of International Studies
Area of Specialization: Southest Asia, Viet Nam

Susan Glenn | glenns@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Twentieth Century US Cultural, Social History

James Gregory | gregoryj@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Twentieth Century US, Labor, Race, Politics

R. Kent Guy | qing@uw.edu

Professor Emeritus, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
Area of Specialization:

Bruce Hevly | bhevly@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: History of Science, Technology

Richard Johnson | rrj@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Early America, Constitutional History

Raymond Jonas | jonas@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Europe and the Modern World

Sandra Joshel | sjoshel@uw.edu

Professor, Jon M. Bridgman Endowed Professor
Area of Specialization: Ancient Rome

Moon-Ho Jung | mhjung@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Walker Family Endowed Professor
Area of Specialization: Race, Politics, Asian American History

Devin E. Naar | denaar@uw.edu

Assistant Professor, Marsha & Jay Glazer Chair in Jewish Studies, Coordinator of the Sephardic Studies Initiative
Area of Specialization: Modern Jewish History, Sephardic Jewry, Ottoman Empire and Greece, Transnational histories

Hwasook Nam | hsnam@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
Area of Specialization: Modern Korea

Linda Nash | lnash@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Director, Center for the Study of the Pacific Northwest
Area of Specialization: Environmental History, Twentieth Century U.S., American West

Margaret O'Mara | momara@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies
Area of Specialization: American Political History, Urban History, History of Capitalism

Mary O'Neil | oneilmr@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: Italian Renaissance, Reformation

Kenneth Pyle | kbp@uw.edu

Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
Area of Specialization: Modern Japan, Foreign Relations

Vicente Rafael | vrafael@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Philippine History, Colonialism and Nationalism, Historiography

Ileana Rodriguez-Silva | imrodrig@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: Latin America and the Caribbean

William Rorabaugh | rorabaug@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Nineteenth Century US, US Social History

Benjamin Schmidt | schmidtb@uw.edu

Professor, Joff Hanauer Endowed Faculty Fellow
Area of Specialization: Early Modern Europe, Cultural History, Early Modern Globalism, Early Modern Spain and the Netherlands

Laurie Sears | lsears@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Indonesia, Southeast Asia, Comparative Colonialisms, Psychoanalysis and Colonialism, Historiography

Stephanie Smallwood | ses9@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Dio Richardson Endowed Professor
Area of Specialization: Atlantic World, Slavery

Robert Stacey | bstacey@uw.edu

Professor, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences
Area of Specialization: Medieval Europe

Robin Chapman Stacey | rcstacey@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Medieval Europe, Celtic History, Women, Gender

Quintard Taylor | qtaylor@uw.edu

Professor, Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Chair of American History
Area of Specialization: African American History, American West

Lynn M. Thomas | lynnmt@uw.edu

Professor, Chair , Giovanni and Amne Costigan Endowed Professor
Area of Specialization: Africa, Comparative Colonialisms, Women, Gender

Carol Thomas | carolt@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Ancient Greece

Phillip Thurtle | thurtle@uw.edu

Associate Professor
Area of Specialization: History and Philosophy of Technology and Science

John Toews | toews@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: European Intellectual and Cultural History

Charity Urbanski | urbanski@uw.edu

Full-Time Lecturer
Area of Specialization: Medieval France and England, Vernacular History

Joel Walker | jwalker@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Jon Bridgman Endowed Professor
Area of Specialization: Late Antiquity, Ancient World, Middle East, Islamic World

Adam Warren | awarren2@uw.edu

Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies, Howard & Frances Keller Endowed Professor
Area of Specialization: Latin America

Anand Yang | aay@uw.edu

Professor
Area of Specialization: Modern South Asia

Glennys Young | glennys@uw.edu

Professor, Joint Appointment: Jackson School of International Studies
Area of Specialization: Russia, The Soviet Union, Communism, Spain, Historiography