HSS Award and Prize Nominations Sought for 2002

Recognizing that awards and prizes should represent the consensus of the Society's members, we now rely upon our membership for nominations. However, for this process to work successfully, our members must respond. Therefore, we encourage all HSS members, especially those of you who are recent authors, to complete the following NOMINATION FORM and send it to the HSS Executive Office (Box 351330, University of Washington, Seattle, WA 98195-1330) no later than 1 April 2001. To be eligible for nomination in 2002, books and articles must have been published in 1999, 2000, and 2001. Books published in the previous four years are eligible for the 2002 History of Women in Science Prize.

The Pfizer Award is the highest honor awarded by the History of Science Society for a work of scholarship. Any original book, published in English, either as the original language or in translation, which deals in a substantial way with the history of science is eligible; those by more than two authors or unrevised reprints or previously published works are excluded.

The Watson Davis and Helen Miles Davis Prize is awarded annually to the author of a book useful in undergraduate teaching or which promotes public understanding of the history of science. Books should be distinguished by breadth, sufficiency of explanation, and comprehensibility. They should be introductory in assuming no previous knowledge of the subject and in

being directed at audiences of beginning students and general readers. They should introduce an entire field, a chronological period, a national tradition, or the work of a noteworthy individual. Multi-authored or edited books are eligible, whereas unrevised reprints of previously published works are not.

The History of Women in Science Prize will be awarded in 2001 to the author of an outstanding book on the history of women in science. Included in the topic "women in science" are discussions of women's activities in science, analyses of past scientific practices that deal explicitly with gender, and investigations regarding women as viewed by scientists. These may be related to medicine, technology, and the social sciences as well as the natural sciences.

The Henry and Ida Schuman Prize is awarded for the best original essay by a graduate student on the history of science and its cultural influences. Essays on medical topics are not eligible unless they deal with the relations between medicine and the natural sciences. Entries must not have been previously published and must be original, thoroughly documented, and submitted in English or accompanied by an English translation. They must not exceed 8,000 words in length exclusive of footnotes. Students must submit documentation of graduate student status and three copies of the essay to: Robert J. Malone, HSS Executive Director, at the address below. The author's name and institution must be indicated on a detachable cover sheet. Papers should conform to *The Chicago Manual of Style*, 14th Edition.

The Derek Price Award is presented annually for an outstanding article published in *Isis* during the preceding three years, i.e. 1998, 1999, and 2000. All articles published in the relevant years are automatically considered.

The Joseph H. Hazen Education Prize is awarded in recognition of outstanding contributions to the teaching of History of Science. Education activities recognized by the award are to be construed in the broadest sense and should include but not be limited to the following: classroom teaching (K-12, undergraduate, graduate, or extended education), mentoring of young scholars, museum work, journalism, organization and administration of educational programs, influential writing, educational research, innovation in the methodology of instruction, preparation of pedagogical materials, or public outreach through non-print media.

The Sarton Medal, originally designed by Bern Dibner and still supplied by the Dibner Institute at MIT, is awarded annually to an outstanding historian of science, selected from the international scholarly community. It recognizes those whose entire careers have been devoted to the field and whose scholarship is exceptional. Nominations may be sent to the Executive Office of the History of Science Society.

Honors, Prizes, and Awards Nomination Form

Please include **full citation** and return to the History of Science Society, Attention: Nominations, Box 351330, University of Washington, Seattle, WA 98195 by **1 April 2002**.

Sarton Nominee:
Joseph H. Hazen Education Prize:
Pfizer Award (book):
Watson Davis and Helen Miles Davis Prize (book):
History of Women in Science (book):
Henry & Ida Schuman Prize (essay):
Nominator: