Laboratory Medicine banner
     
HomeDivisionsHematologyHematopathology

Hematopathology Section

*Visit Our New Hematopathology Website! (opens in new window)

Hematopathology Laboratory

blast

Introduction

The Hematopathology Laboratory at the University of Washington offers a wide variety of testing to aid in the diagnosis of leukemias, lymphomas and other hematopoietic or immunological disorders. In addition, the laboratory is involved in research and development of diagnostic tests and their clinical application. The laboratory personnel also provide high quality teaching to residents, fellows, medical students and medical laboratory science students. Finally, the laboratory is committed to keeping community clinicians informed of new developments in this rapidly changing area of laboratory medicine.

Accreditation

Departmental laboratories are accredited by the College of American Pathologists (CAP), thereby meeting all requirements of CLIA 1988, and participate in formal proficiency programs of the CAP.

Faculty

Daniel E. Sabath, MD, PhD
Division Head, Director, Red Cell Disorders, Molecular Diagnosis and General Laboratories
Email: dsabath@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206-288-7060

Brent L. Wood, MD, PhD
Director, Hematopathology Laboratory
E-mail: woodbl@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206-288-7060

Lorinda Soma, MD
Associate Director Morphology, Hematopathology Division
E-mail: somal@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206-288-7060

Jonathan Fromm, MD, PhD
Associate Director Flow Cytometry Laboratory
Associate Director, Hematopathology Division
E-mail: jfromm@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206-288-7060

Sindhu Cherian, MD
Associate Director Flow Cytrometry
Associate Director, Hematopathology Division
E-mail: cherians@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206-288-7060

David Wu, MD, PhD
Associate Director Molecular, Hematopathology Division
Program Director, UW Molecular Genetic Pathology Fellowship
E-mail: dwu2@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206-288-7060

Kerstin Edlefsen, MD
Associate Director Morphology, Hematopathology Division
E-mail: edlefsen@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206.288.7060

Xueyan Chen, MD, PhD.
Associate Director Molecular, Hematopathology Division
E-mail: xchen1@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206-288-7060

Yi Zhou, MD, PhD
Associate Director Molecular, Hematopathology Division
E-mail: yzhou36@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206-288-7060

Supervisory Staff

Julie Sako, MT(ASCP).
Hematopathology Manager
E-mail: sakoj@uw.edu
Voice mail: 206-288-7113
Fax: 206-288-7127

Katy Dougherty, MT (ASCP)
Flow Cytometry Hematopathology Lead
E-mail: kddough@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206-288-7060

Shannon Nesbitt, BS, MT (ASCP)
Molecular Hematopathology Lead
E-mail: snesbitt@u.washington.edu
Phone: 206-288-7070

Laboratory contact information

Address:
Hematopathology Laboratory, G7-800
Seattle Cancer Care Alliance
825 Eastlake Avenue E.
Seattle, WA 98109

Fred Hutchinson Molecular Oncology
Located in the Thomas Building, D2-281
Phone: (206) 667-2592
ABL1 mutational analysis testing on transplant patients.

UW Genetics Laboratory
University of Washington Medical Center, Room NW 275
Phone: (206) 598-6429
KIT mutations in exon 8 and 17

After hours contact the hemepath fellow on call: 206-598-6190

Phone Numbers:
Flow Cytometry Hematopathology: 206-288-7060
Molecular Hematopathology: 206-288-7070

Fax Numbers:
Flow Cytometry Hematopathology: 206-288-7127
Molecular Hematopathology: 206-288-7126

Last updated: 07/01/2015

Return to Top