Home  |  People  |  Courses  |  Graduate  |  Undergraduate  |  Events  |  Contact

Home > People > Current Graduate Students
Current Graduate Students
Awards and Honors |  Recent PhDs awarded |  Recent MAs awarded |  Recent MSs awarded
Emails are found by adding @uw.edu after the email ID.

Student Email Interests
Hyunjung Sophie Ahn ahnhj Syntax, Second language acquisition, Korean, Japanese
Maria Alexandropoulou malexan
Ahmed Aly ahhegazy
Maria Alexandra Antoniak riamarie
Marie-Renee Caroline Arend rcarend Machine translation, handwritten text recognition, creating resources for low-density languages, typology
Andrew Baer baera4
Abdelrahman Baligh abaligh
Stefan Behr sbehr NLP, spoken dialogue systems, speaker recognition, natural language programming, machine learning, computer vision, computer systems, programming languages
Matthew D Benak mbenak
Arjun Bhalla ab58
Ryan Scott Bielby rbielby
Tristan Adrian Bodding-Long blta
Melanie F Bolla mfbolla computer assisted language revitalization and computer assisted language learning; dialect differences, discourse, language and gender, nonstandard speech, and other aspects of sociolinguistics; computational linguistics
Antariksh V Bothale abothale
Maria N Burgess mapnea language attitudes, heritage language, language, policy
Stephen Steele Carter steele42
Joshua Cason casonj
Julian Yui-Hin Chan jchan3
Nick Chen nickchen
Keitha Ruibo Alexis Cheng ethidda
Tristan E Chong tristanc
George R Cooper grcooper
Joshua Crowgey jcrowgey formal linguistic theory, syntax of negation, HPSG, phonology, Basque, ChiShona, Lushootseed
Chris Curtis cmc3c computational linguistics, computer-mediated communication (particularly in restricted domains), computational semantics, typology, language preservation
Amie DeJong acdejong
Ahmad Khamis Elshenawy aelshen
Bin Feng binfeng
Valerie Freeman valerief Sociophonetics, dialect differences
Ruth E Frowein ruthf Computational Linguistics, Information Extraction, Speech Recognition
Robert C Gale rcgale
Ryan Georgi rgeorgi Computational Linguistics: Machine Translation, Grammar Induction, Resource-Poor Tool Development
Allison Germain agermain Syntax, semantics, Slavic
John T Gilmer jtg9 Word Sense Disambiguation, Machine Translation, Computer Assisted Second Language Acquisition
Justin Mitchell Goodenkauf goodenka Syntax Theory, Information Structure, Second Language Acquisition, Spanish, Arabic
Michael Wayne Goodman goodmami Machine Translation, Grammar Development, Lexicography
Clara L Gordon cgordon1
Nandesh Guru nguru
Laurel E Hart hart1a
Jennifer Haywood jhaywood phonetics, phonology, L2 speech, sociolinguistics, grammaticalization
Haotian He haotianh Speech recognition, MT, tone languages, L1 speech acquisition
Stephanie Hiller sthill4 Sociolinguistics, Language Policy, Language and Power, Critical Discourse Analysis
Norah Lynne Hogoboom norah Phonetics, phonology, writing systems, computational linguistics, software globalization and localization
James Heinrich Hoza hhoza NLP, NLU
Alena Hrynkevich alenah machine translation
Chen-Chieh Hsu cjhsu
Russell Hugo rlhugo Sociolinguistics, language policy
To Nguyen Huynh tohuynh
David Inman davinman
Claire Jaja cjaja NLP, dependency parsing
Andrea M Kahn amkahn
Kathleen Anouche Kamali kamalk
Esther Le Grezause elg1 Phonetics, phonology, computational linguistics and discourse
Wendy Kempsell Jacinto kempsell Sociolinguistics, Phonetics, language, mixingSpanish, Turkish
Joseph M Kaufmann jmk45
Rik Kedziorski kedzior Discourse, Pragmatics, Computable Formalisms
Nigel I A Kilmer kilmen
Katy King katybeth
Dmitri A Kisselev dmitrikv Second Language Acquisition and Machine Translation
Prescott Klassen klassp Domain Adaptation, Automatic Text Summarization
Jared K Kramer jaredkk
Kathleen Langr klangr Syntax, semantics, Inuit
Adam K Ledyard adamledy Computational Linguistics, Phonectics, Phonology, Voice Synthesis, Japanese Linguistics
Yin Li liyin Chinese Syntax
David T Lin davidl26 Multi-lingual variations of Computer Assisted Language Learning, Language Acquisition, Speech Recognition, Speech Synthesis, Handwritten Recognition, Text Recognition
Todd Lingren togrli Computational Linguistics
Andrew Livingston livings2
Ronald M Lockwood ronl
Nathan Loggins nloggins
Thomas C Marsh sugarork
Jeremy McLain jeremcla
Dan McCloy drmccloy Speech perception, acoustic phonetics, phonetic and phonological typology
David MS McHugh dsmchugh
Veljko Miljanic veljko
Ebrain O Mirambeau ebraim
Ruth E Morrison ruthem2
Marina Oganyan marina0
Meghan Oxley what Sociophonetics, Perceptual Dialectology, Folk Linguistics, Language Attitudes, Southern US English
Anthony Princing asp7991
Woodley Packard wpack
Laura Panfili lpanfili phonetics and sociolinguistics
Jonggun Park jonggun Computational Linguistics, Spanish
Nate Perkins nperk computational linguistics of course!, education, semantics
Thomas Phan thomphan
Laurel Preston laurelpr Semantics, Second Language Acquisition
Sarala Puthuval puthuval Language contact, phonology, language shift and spread, Mongolian, Chinese
John Matt Riebold riebold Sociolinguistics (Pacific Northwestern English, mergers), phonetics (lenition, glottalization, voice quality), sociophonetics
Leanne E Rolston rolston Speech technology: Accent variation, automatic detection of prosody
Kyoko Sano sano syntax, syntax-semantics interface, tense and aspect
Michael Scanlon ms27 Sociolinguistics, Phonetics
Jeffrey J Shu cannikin Machine Translation
Scott Simpson sksca
Glenn Slayden gslayden Analytical MT and Thai language, computational linguistics
Sanghoun Song sanghoun Computational Syntax and Semantics, Grammar Engineering, Multilingual Machine Translation
Christopher John Staley cjstaley
Rachel Stuart rastuart
Alec Sugar sugara
Esad Suskic esads Machine Translation
Wee Teck Tan weeteckt MT, IE
Rachael Tatman rctatman Phonetics, phonology, laboratory phonology, connected speech, experimental techniques in linguistics
Lisa Tittle grazie Sociolinguistics, Phonetics, Computational Linguistics, and Second Language Acquisition (Pedagogy)
Thomas James Trimble trimblet
Lauren Wang laurwang
Faraz Waseem farazw
David A Wax waxd
Yi-Shu Wei yishuwei
Zachary Westbrook zwest
Olga Whelan olgaw
James P White jimwhite Computational Linguistics, Natural Language Learning from Computer Programs, Distributed Open Corpus Management and Computation Systems
Sean A Wibel swibel
Edward Wong edwardkw
Brent Woo bwoo
Shu Wu shuwu83
Chak Lam Colum Yip columyip Syntax of nominal phrases, Chinese syntax, Diachronic syntax


University of Washington Department of Linguistics   |   Box 354340 Seattle, WA 98195-4340   |   Phone: (206) 543-2046   |   Fax: (206) 685-7978   |   phoneme@u.washington.edu
University of Washington Home Page   |   Site Map   |   Webmaster   |