Home  |  People  |  Courses  |  Graduate  |  Undergraduate  |  Events  |  Contact

Home > People > Current Graduate Students
Current Graduate Students
Awards and Honors |  Recent PhDs awarded |  Recent MAs awarded |  Recent MSs awarded
Emails are found by adding @uw.edu after the email ID.

Student Email Interests
Hyunjung Sophie Ahn ahnhj Syntax, Second language acquisition, Korean, Japanese
Maria Alexandropoulou malexan
Ahmed Aly ahhegazy
Maria Alexandra Antoniak riamarie
Syed Arshad sarshad
Andrew Baer baera4
Abdelrahman Baligh abaligh
Stefan Behr sbehr NLP, spoken dialogue systems, speaker recognition, natural language programming, machine learning, computer vision, computer systems, programming languages
Steven Belski sab047
Matthew D Benak mbenak
Kellianne Bennett keb42
Arjun Bhalla ab58
Ryan Scott Bielby rbielby
Melanie F Bolla mfbolla computer assisted language revitalization and computer assisted language learning; dialect differences, discourse, language and gender, nonstandard speech, and other aspects of sociolinguistics; computational linguistics
Antariksh V Bothale abothale
Florian Braun braunf
Anca Burducea anca
Maria N Burgess mapnea language attitudes, heritage language, language, policy
Alexandra Burrell burrella
Alexandra Cabral acabral
Matthew Calderwood calderma
Stephen Steele Carter steele42
Joshua Cason casonj
Julian Yui-Hin Chan jchan3
Nicole Chartier chartn
Nick Chen nickchen
Ceara Chewning ceara
Tristan E Chong tristanc
Kirby Conrod kconrod
George R Cooper grcooper
Joshua Crowgey jcrowgey formal linguistic theory, syntax of negation, HPSG, phonology, Basque, ChiShona, Lushootseed
Chris Curtis cmc3c computational linguistics, computer-mediated communication (particularly in restricted domains), computational semantics, typology, language preservation
Wei Dai daiw
Amie DeJong acdejong
Laurie Dermer ldermer
Ahmad Khamis Elshenawy aelshen
Mary FitzMorris mkfitz
Valerie Freeman valerief Sociophonetics, dialect differences
Ruth E Frowein ruthf Computational Linguistics, Information Extraction, Speech Recognition
Brandon Gahler bjg6
Robert Gale rcgale
Eric Garnick egarnick
Ryan Georgi rgeorgi Computational Linguistics: Machine Translation, Grammar Induction, Resource-Poor Tool Development
Allison Germain agermain Syntax, semantics, Slavic
Justin Mitchell Goodenkauf goodenka Syntax Theory, Information Structure, Second Language Acquisition, Spanish, Arabic
Michael Wayne Goodman goodmami Machine Translation, Grammar Development, Lexicography
Clara L Gordon cgordon1
Qi Guo qcg
Nandesh Guru nguru
Laurel E Hart hart1a
Jennifer Haywood jhaywood phonetics, phonology, L2 speech, sociolinguistics, grammaticalization
Haotian He haotianh Speech recognition, MT, tone languages, L1 speech acquisition
Jeffrey Heath jch65
Norah Lynne Hogoboom norah Phonetics, phonology, writing systems, computational linguistics, software globalization and localization
James Heinrich Hoza hhoza NLP, NLU
Alena Hrynkevich alenah machine translation
Wei-Chieh Hsiung allenwch
Chen-Chieh Hsu cjhsu
Russell Hugo rlhugo Sociolinguistics, language policy
David Inman davinman
Claire Jaja cjaja NLP, dependency parsing
Andrea M Kahn amkahn
Kathleen Anouche Kamali kamalk
Esther Le Grezause elg1 Phonetics, phonology, computational linguistics and discourse
Wendy Kempsell Jacinto kempsell Sociolinguistics, Phonetics, language, mixingSpanish, Turkish
Joseph M Kaufmann jmk45
Rik Kedziorski kedzior Discourse, Pragmatics, Computable Formalisms
Katy King katybeth
Prescott Klassen klassp Domain Adaptation, Automatic Text Summarization
Kirk LaBuda kwlabuda
Sarah Lalonde lalondes
Kathleen Langr klangr Syntax, semantics, Inuit
Yin Li liyin Chinese Syntax
Ryan Lish rslish
Andrew Livingston livings2
Michael Lockwood lockwm
Ronald M Lockwood ronl
Nathan Loggins nloggins
Amy Marsh abmarsh
Thomas C Marsh sugarork
Ryan Martin ryanm43
John McCranie jtm37
Jeremy McLain jeremcla
Dan McCloy drmccloy Speech perception, acoustic phonetics, phonetic and phonological typology
David MS McHugh dsmchugh
Veljko Miljanic veljko
Ruth E Morrison ruthem2
Joseph Mulvey jmulvey5
Nataliya Munishkina ngriggs
Rebecca Myhre rjmyhre
Marina Oganyan marina0
Meghan Oxley what Sociophonetics, Perceptual Dialectology, Folk Linguistics, Language Attitudes, Southern US English
Anthony Princing asp7991
Woodley Packard wpack
Laura Panfili lpanfili phonetics and sociolinguistics
Jonggun Park jonggun Computational Linguistics, Spanish
Nate Perkins nperk computational linguistics of course!, education, semantics
Stephanie Peterson slp24
Thomas Phan thomphan
Laurel Preston laurelpr Semantics, Second Language Acquisition
Sarala Puthuval puthuval Language contact, phonology, language shift and spread, Mongolian, Chinese
John Matt Riebold riebold Sociolinguistics (Pacific Northwestern English, mergers), phonetics (lenition, glottalization, voice quality), sociophonetics
Leanne E Rolston rolston Speech technology: Accent variation, automatic detection of prosody
Michael Roylance roylance
Kyoko Sano sano syntax, syntax-semantics interface, tense and aspect
Michael Scanlon ms27 Sociolinguistics, Phonetics
Kazuki Shintani kazukish
Scott Simpson sksca
Glenn Slayden gslayden Analytical MT and Thai language, computational linguistics
Alec Sugar sugara
Esad Suskic esads Machine Translation
Wee Teck Tan weeteckt MT, IE
Rachael Tatman rctatman Phonetics, phonology, laboratory phonology, connected speech, experimental techniques in linguistics
Katherine Topping
Thomas James Trimble trimblet
Yveline Van Anh yvananh
Katherine Vedder kvedder
Lauren Wang laurwang
Yi-Shu Wei yishuwei
Zachary Westbrook zwest
Olga Whelan olgaw
James P White jimwhite Computational Linguistics, Natural Language Learning from Computer Programs, Distributed Open Corpus Management and Computation Systems
Edward Wong edwardkw
Kevin Wonus kwonus
Brent Woo bwoo
Xiaosu Xue xue4
Chak Lam Colum Yip columyip Syntax of nominal phrases, Chinese syntax, Diachronic syntax
Olga Zamaraeva olzama


University of Washington Department of Linguistics   |   Box 354340 Seattle, WA 98195-4340   |   Phone: (206) 543-2046   |   Fax: (206) 685-7978   |   phoneme@u.washington.edu
University of Washington Home Page   |   Site Map   |   Webmaster   |