ACLPS Logo, return to home page.


General Information


Annual Meetings





Employment Opportunities


Contact Us

Members Only

Sample Loader Gene Sequencing Fluorescent Cells Flow Cytometry Aspergillus fumigatus Mature HIV


To promote the ACLPS objectives, the following awards are given annually:

The Cotlove Lectureship:  Dr. Cotlove’s career exemplified the progress seen in medical research and technology. This award is presented to a scientist (member or non-member of the academy) for outstanding contributions to the science of laboratory medicine.
2007 Cotlove awardee Don Hunt
2006 Cotlove awardee David Ginsburg, University of Michigan
2005 Lance Liotta, George Mason University, Arlington, VA
2004 Cotlove awardee Jack Ladenson
Previous Cotlove awardees

The Gerald T. Evans Award:  Even though Dr. Evans retired prior to the creation of ACLPS, his influence has been keenly felt. This award is presented annually to a member for outstanding leadership and/or service to the society.
2007 Evans awardee David Bruns
2006 Evans awardee William L. Roberts, University of Utah
2005 Steven Spitalnik, New York, NY
2004 Evans awardee Mike Laposata
Previous Evans awardees

The Ellis Benson Award:  Ellis Benson was instrumental in promoting research, service, and teaching in the field of laboratory medicine. This award is presented to a young faculty member in recognition of meritorious accomplishment in the field of laboratory medicine
2007 Awardee Sandy Chang poses with Ellis Benson and President Peerschke
2006 Robin G. Lorenz,
University of Alabama at Birmingham

Paul E. Strandjord Young Investigator Award Program:  This program is designed to encourage young investigators to consider a career in academic laboratory medicine. Residents, fellows, and students in a doctorial program in health sciences, participating in research with a member of ACLPS or sponsored by an ACLPS member are eligible. Students in programs leading to nondoctoral degrees conducting research with an ACLPS member may be considered upon written request from the ACLPS sponsor to the Director, Young Investigator Awards Program.
Paul Strandjord Young Investigator Award Recipients - 2007
Paul Strandjord Young Investigator Award Recipients - 2006 Photo
Paul Strandjord Young Investigator Award Recipients - 2005
Paul Strandjord Young Investigator Award Recipients - 2004

©2004 Lilthea Designs, Academy of Clinical Laboratory Physicians and Scientists, and University of Washington