MCB News and Announcements

1 week 6 days ago

Ethan Ahler, Sam Cutler, Adam Dingens, Moriah Echlin, Tiffany Hensley-McBain, Elena Latorre-Esteves, Jocelynn Pearl, Katelyn Slavens, and Claire Williams have won NSF awards in the Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP). Seven of them are 1st-year graduate students.  An additional seven students received honorable mention.

The NSF funds research and education in science and engineering. The Foundation accounts for about 20% of federal support to academic institutions for basic research. Since 1952, the GRFP has provided Fellowships to individuals selected early in their graduate careers based on their demonstrated potential for significant achievements in science and engineering. Three years of support is provided by the program for graduate study that is in a field within NSF's mission and leads to a research-based master's or doctoral degree.

3 weeks 5 days ago

Dr. Quy Ha Le successfully defended his dissertation entitled "Spatiotemporal regulation limits the mutagenic potential of activation-induced deaminase (AID)" on March 20, 2014.  Dr. Le earned his Ph.D. under the mentorship of Nancy Maizels, Professor, in both the Immunology and Biochemistry departments.

7 weeks 5 days ago

Andrew Adey, graduate student in Jay Shendure's lab, has been selected for a Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award to recognize outstanding achievement in Graduate Studies. He will present at the annual Weintraub Award Symposium, which will be held May 2, 2014 at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center.