Nine MCB Students Win National Science Foundation Awards!

Go-Live Date: 
Wednesday, April 2, 2014 - 4:45pm

Ethan Ahler, Sam Cutler, Adam Dingens, Moriah Echlin, Tiffany Hensley-McBain, Elena Latorre-Esteves, Jocelynn Pearl, Katelyn Slavens, and Claire Williams have won NSF awards in the Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP). Seven of them are 1st-year graduate students.  An additional seven students received honorable mention.

The NSF funds research and education in science and engineering. The Foundation accounts for about 20% of federal support to academic institutions for basic research. Since 1952, the GRFP has provided Fellowships to individuals selected early in their graduate careers based on their demonstrated potential for significant achievements in science and engineering. Three years of support is provided by the program for graduate study that is in a field within NSF's mission and leads to a research-based master's or doctoral degree.