Idenity Graphic
Search LinkOnline News LinkDean's Messages LinkContact Us LlinkArchive LinkUseful Links linkRecent News LinkUpcoming Events LinkFaculty Profiles LinkBookshelf Link
Volume 4, Number 37Space holderSeptember 15, 2000

Paauw named to endowed chair

Douglas S. Paauw, associate professor of medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine, has been named the first holder of the Rathmann Family Foundation Endowed Chair in Patient-Centered Clinical Education. The foundation has contributed $1.5 million to fund the chair, in order to encourage training in patient-oriented medicine.

Paauw has previously received the Clinician-Teacher Award of Excellence from the Society of General Internal Medicine, the Paul M. Beeson Teaching Award, and has been named one of the "Best Doctors in America" three times. Paauw is also the editor of Guide to Internal Medicine and CME editor for Scientific American Medicine.

Women's Sports Chair funded by Gates gift

On Sept. 11, the School of Medicine announced the establishment of the Endowed Chair for Women's Sports Medicine and Lifetime Fitness. The chair will be based in the Department of Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine and is intended to help redress the gap in medical information for active women and girls. (Full story)

Hartwell to receive Massry Prize

Lee Hartwell, professor of genetics and president and director of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, has been selected to receive the 2000 Massry Prize from the Meira and Shaul G. Massry Foundation. The award honors Hartwell's work in cell-cycle biology. (Full story)

Students teach osteoporosis prevention

This summer eight UW medical students in the Rural/Underserved Opportunities Program (R/UOP) participated in the Rural/Underserved Osteoporosis Student Educator (ROSE) project. In addition to their regular rural rotation, the students gave talks on osteoporosis prevention in a variety of venues, including hospital and community clinics, tribal health centers and youth athletic camps. (Full story)

© 1998-2003, University of Washington School of Medicine. All rights reserved. Please honor our copyrights.
| Contact Us | Archive | Links | |