Faculty positions
Contact us



The Fialkow Award honors the late UW Dean of Medicine and Chair of Medicine Dr. Philip Fialkow and his wife, the late Helen Fialkow, and recognizes the outstanding achievements of junior faculty in medicine in research, teaching, clinical work, and academic citizenship.The award includes support for scholarly activities, and each Fialkow Scholar presents at Medicine Grand Rounds during fall quarter.

2014 Mohamed Sorror
2013 Joshua Thaler
2012 Vivian Oehler and Joanne Stekler
2011 Ian H. de Boer and Nona Sotoodehnia
2010 Geoffrey S. Gottlieb
2009 Bryan Kestenbaum
2008 Thomas R. Hawn
2007 Elizabeth A. Phelan
2006 Robert K. Ernst and Francis Kim
2005 Ajit P. Limaye
2004 John K. Amory and Frederick S. Buckner
2003 Cassian Yee
2002 Jonathan G. Drachman
2001 David E. Cummings
2000 Anna Wald
1999 J. Randall Curtis
1998 W. Conrad Liles
1997 Marshall Horwitz

Dr. Paul B. Beeson was Distinguished Physician at the Seattle VA Medical Center from 1974 to 1979 and was celebrated for his teaching skills. The Beeson Award is presented annually by the internal medicine residents to recognize outstanding clinical teaching by a faculty member who exemplifies scholarliness, humility, compassion, and integrity.

Patricia Kritek
Edward Gibbons
Gordon A. Starkebaum
2011 Thomas A. Martin
2010 Leah A. Haseley
2009 Andrew M. Luks
2008 Paul S. Pottinger and Caroline S. Rhoads
2007 Jill M. Watanabe
2006 Melissa (Moe) Hagman
2005 Robert D. Harrington, Jr.
2004 Karen McDonough
2003 John K. Amory
2002 Paul R. Sutton
2001 Virginia C. Broudy
2000 Kenneth P. Steinberg
1999 Bradley D. Anawalt
1998 Gregory C. Gardner and David A. D'Alessio
1997 Joshua O. Benditt
1996 John V.L. Sheffield
1995 Gregory J. Raugi
1994 David H. Spach
1993 Douglas S. Paauw
1992 Terry J. Mengert
1991 Steven R. McGee
1990 Peter J. Judenchuk
1989 Philip K. Kirby
1988 Jan V. Hirschmann
1987 W. Patrick Fleet
1986 Bruce C. Gilliland
1985 John M. Leonard

The Robert S. Evans Awards are presented each year to the second-year medicine resident and the graduating student in medicine who most clearly reflect the qualities of warmth, understanding, and concern for the needs of others exemplified by and expressed through the life of Dr. Robert Evans, who was chief of medicine at Seattle VA Medical Center for many years.

2014 Jeff Redinger and David Wenger Eric Marr
2013 Meghan Johnston Erin Addison
2012 Reshma Gupta Talia Kahn
2011 Jocelyn R. James Sylvia K. Mollerstrom
2010 Maryann K. Overland Grace E. Marx
2009 Tristan R. Osborn Adeena Khan
2008 Basak Coruh Anna Golob
2007 Karlee Ausk and Jennifer Wright Ashok Reddy
2006 Travis P. Baggett Joseph C. Chiovaro
2005 Maia J.L. Davis Jennifer J. Wright
2004 Lindy S. Klaff and Sandra S. McIntyre Zahra A. Karmali
2003 Scott R. Stuart Oscar Zepeda
2002 Genevieve L. Pagalilauan Lindy S. Klaff and Sandra S. McIntyre
2001 Angelina Platas Scott Stuart
2000 A. Brockenbrough Heidi Combs
1999 Mary Woudenberg David Cameron
1998 Agata Sikora Ettore Palazzo
1997 Thomas Hawn Katerine Weber
1996 Edward Leonard Christopher Pepin
1995 Meshell Johnson Frank Johnson
1994 Kandice Knigge Janis Bridge
1993 Michael Van Scoy Mary Migeon
1992 Victoria Seewaldt Kristine Rinn
1991 David Boggs Kelly Carter
1990 J. Randall Curtis Joan Miller
1989 Julie Carkin Darren Hollenbaugh
1988 Peter Shalit Darik Taniguchi
1987 Douglas Paauw Cecilia Schulte
1986 Terry Mengert Kimberly Tanabe
1985 George Demetri Mary Owen-Majorowicz
1984 Gregory Simon Kathryn Wicklund
1983 Curtis Veal Kristin Adams
1982 Alan Smith Julie Adam
1981 Janet Shimada Lauri Tadlock and Mitchell Karton
1980 David Ingbar Alan Smith
1979 Charles Petty Oliver Press
1978 Ronald Loge Wylie Burke
1977 Scott Pollack Mary Corff-Harvey
1976 Marsha Fretwell George Berni
1975 George Frank Robin Wragg

This award recognizes excellence in teaching and patient care and is presented annually to a Department of Medicine faculty member who is honored at Grand Rounds in the spring. It is named for Dr. Marvin Turck, emeritus professor of medicine, who has been a faculty member in the Division of Allergy and Infectious Diseases since 1964 and who has himself been much recognized for his teaching, clinical work, and scholarship.

Bradley Anawalt
Robert Harrington
Steven R. McGee
2011 Virginia C. Broudy
2010 David J. Pierson
2009 Michael K. Copass
2008 Jan V. Hirschmann
2007 John V.L. Sheffield
2005 Bruce C. Gilliland
2004 W. Patrick Fleet