Department of Medicine Logo


Grand Rounds

Department of Medicine Grand Rounds
will resume on January 8, 2015


uw quad


Click here to view recent Grand Rounds presentations


Welcome to the Department of Medicine website. We invite you to learn more about our outstanding educational, patient care, and research programs in these pages. We are committed to excellence in all three of these missions, and we are proud of our achievements. This is the largest department in the University of Washington School of Medicine, with 14 divisions and more than 1000 full-time and over 1,200 voluntary clinical faculty members. Our faculty provide the highest quality of primary and subspecialty care for patients throughout the region. They train tomorrow's physicians in both the science and art of medicine with innovative programs at all levels, and they conduct basic, translational, and clinical research at the leading edge of biological science.

Dr. Jonathan Himmelfarb, professor (Nephrology) has been elected president of the American Society of Nephrology (ASN). Himmelfarb is the Joseph W. Eschbach, MD, Endowed Chair in Kidney Research and director of the Kidney Research Institute (KRI). ASN, which represents nearly 15,000 physicians, researchers, nurses, and other health professionals, is the world's largest professional society devoted to the study of kidney disease. As president, together with its Board of Advisors, Dr. Himmelfarb will lead the organization as it continues to focus on educating health professionals, advancing research and advocating for the highest quality of care for patients.

Dr. Jennifer Best, associate professor (General Internal Medicine) has been appointed as the new associate dean for GME. A graduate of Northwestern University, she was a UW chief resident and is currently an associate program director for the Medicine Residency Program. In this new role she will lead the Program Director Development Series (PDDS), help develop and promote GME research and seminars, and help create online training modules for residents and fellows.

The UW School of Medicine 2014 Inventor of the Year Award was presented to Dr. David Russell, a professor in the Division of Hematology. ​​​The award recognizes exemplary senior scientists whose innovations in their field have dramatically improved worldwide health care and the local economy. The award was presented to Dr. Russell by Dr. John Harlan who said he has had a “remarkable career of discovery and innovation” and his discoveries have had multiple applications in the field of translational genomics.

Dr. Russell has made major contributions in the fields of viral vectors, gene targeting, and the genetic manipulation of human stem cells. He is an inventor on several patents, including the original patents describing adeno-associated virus vector serotypes and parvovirus-mediated gene targeting.

The UW Medical Student Association (MSA) has awarded Dr. Andrew Luks, associate professor in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, the 2014 MS2 Teaching Award.

Dr. Ellen Schur, associate professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine, has been named as co-director of the new UW Medicine Weight Loss Management Center. Housed at UWMC's Roosevelt clinic, this multidisciplinary center provides nonsurgical and surgical options for weight loss for patients within UW Medicine and outside referrals. Nonsurgical approaches include intensive behavioral treatment through a lifestyle program as well as medical management. Surgical approaches include laparoscopic sleeve gastrectomy and gastric bypass.

Subscribe to DOM Week (a weekly email newsletter.) To submit news items to the Department of Medicine, please send an email to