Beyond Residency

Most residents graduating from the program complete fellowships for further training.  ACGME-accredited fellowships are available at the University of Washington in Neurophysiology, Neuromuscular Medicine, Sleep Medicine, and Vascular Neurology.  There are also fellowships available in Headache, Movement Disorders, Multiple Sclerosis, NeuroHospitalist, and Neuro-Oncology.  In addition we have an active research training program.  While some of our residents choose to stay at the University of Washington for fellowship, those who leave are competitive candidates in whatever field they pursue.

Examples of fellowships that our residents have done in the past few years:

Class of 2018

Huan Li Practice- Kadlec, WA
Justin Low Neuro-Oncology, Duke
Anusha Mannava Headache, UW
Breana Taylor Vascular, UW
James Wang Vascular, UW
Yujie Wang Neuro-Immunology, Johns Hopkins
Jennifer Wax Headache Fellowship, UW

Class of 2018 AAN


Class of 2017

Makeda Agonafer Practice- Valley Medical Center, WA
Haley Anderson Neurophysiology, UW
Matthew Preston Neuromuscular, UW
Kathryn Roberts Movement Disorders, UW
Jenny Siv Vascular, UW
Akanksha Sharma Neuro-Oncology, Mayo

Class of 2017


Class of 2016

Ziad AlSoufi AlSukkary Practice- Evergreen Hospital, WA
Kevin Gobeske Neuro-critical Care, Mayo
Nick Freeburg Cerebrovascular, UW
Paul Johnson Cerebrovascular, UW
Anny Lin Movement Disorders, UW
Meghan Romba Neuro-immunology, Johns Hopkins

2016 GR Poster Pic


Class of 2015

Anthony Julius Movement Disorder, UW
Brian Lundstrom EEG & Epilepsy, Mayo Clinic (Minnesota)
Ina Ly Neuro-Oncology, Harvard Partners
Adam Reynolds Neuromuscular, UW
Tarvinder Singh Cerebrovascular, UW
Katherine Turk Cognitive/Dementia Boston University

Class of 2015 Pic


Class of 2014

Michah Brasseur Neurophysiology, OHSU
Erica Byrd Movement Disorder, UCSF
Elizabeth Cahill Cerebrovascular, UCSF
Jenna Kanter Headache/Pain, UW
Krista Kawaguchi Neurophysiology, UW
Maxwell Ma Neurophysiology, U San Diego

2014 Seniors edited


Class of 2013

Katelan Longfellow Movement Disorders, UW
Ilene Ruhoy Neuromuscular, UW
Ali Sultan-Qurraie Cerebrovascular, UW
Ugur Yilmaz Neurophysiology, UW
Teddy Youn Neuro-critical Care, Yale
Ning Zhong Neurophysiology, UCLA