Faculty Teaching Awards

Congratulations to our clerkship educators for winning the following awards.

AOA Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award

The Alpha Omega Alpha Volunteer Clinical Faculty Award is presented annually by local chapters to recognize community physicians who have contributed with distinction to the education and training of medical students.

  • Roger Rowles, MD (Yakima); 2011

APGO Excellence in Teaching Award

The APGO Excellence in Teaching Award was established in 1992 to recognize outstanding teachers in ob-gyn medical education. Over 1,500 physician educators have received this prestigious award since its inception.

  • Bruce Hopkins, MD (Spokane); 2010
  • Rita Hsu, MD (Wenatchee); 2014
  • Tyler Bradford, MD (Bozeman); 2016
  • Mark Garnaas, MD (Missoula); 2018

Gold Humanism Honor Society

These residents and faculty were recognized by UW students for their humanism in medicine .

  • Lauren Stewart, MD (UW Resident); 2016
  • Roger Rowles, MD (Yakima); 2016

WWAMI Distinguished Teacher Award

This award honors a faculty member in the WWAMI region who has played an important role in your education.

  • Margaret Dow, MD (Havre); 2012
  • Suzanne Swietnicki, MD (Havre); 2012
  • Jan Whitefield, MD (Anchorage); 2014
  • Rogers Rowles, MD (Yakima); 2017