seminars & bulletins


10:30am (unless otherwise noted)
Refreshments follow the seminar


PBIO Special Events

Health Sciences Bulletin

Seminar Series archives

News Archives 2003 & Older

January 2003
Dr. Peter Agre presents 23rd Lamport Memorial Lecture
PBIO celebrates the New Year

December 2002
Department featured in American Physics Society newsletter
Welcome Floor Wardens!

October 2002
Bertil Hille elected to Institute of Medicine
Arnold L. Towe 1927-2002

September 2002
Annual Departmental Retreat

August 2002
Inaugural year of undergraduate summer research program is a success

July 2002
Department ranks in top 10 in grant support
Jane Sullivan joins PBio Faculty

May 2002
Harry Dickson Patton (1918-2002)
David Copenhagen presents 2nd Annual Wayne Crill Lecture
Erika Eggers wins 1st Crill Award for Outstanding Graduate Research
Bharathi Jagadeesh receives 2002 McKnight Scholar Award

April 2002
"In the Scientist's Mind": Artwork by four members of the PBIO Dept. at the U of W
Announcing the 2nd Annual Wayne E. Crill Graduate Research Lecture
Cherry trees in bloom on UW campus

March 2002
A Stellar Month for Publications by Physiology & Biophysics Alums
Professor Eve Marder presents 12th Annual Einar Hille Memorial Lecture in Neuroscience

February 2002
Bill Zagotta receives Michael and Kate Bárány Young Investigator Award of the Biophysical Society
Bharathi Jagadeesh named Sloan Foundation Fellow

January, 2002
Albert Gordon joins emeritus faculty

December 2001
Faculty publish three textbooks in 2001

October 2001
Halloween Party Photos!

September 2001
Fernando Santana joins Physiology & Biophysics Faculty
Professor Tomoyuki Takahashi presents Lamport Lecture
2001 Retreat Photos

July 2001
Michael Shadlen named co-Director of the Graduate Program in Neurobiology & Behavior
Mike Shadlen and Bill Zagotta awarded promotions

June 2001
Joe Howard accepts position at Max-Planck Institute

May 2001
Robert Sapolsky presents First Annual Wayne Crill Lecture
Joshua Gold wins Burroughs Wellcome Career Development Award

April 2001
Albert Berger appointed associate dean of research and graduate education
Larry Rowell receives 2002 Carl J. Wiggers Award

March 2001
Marc Tessier-Lavigne presents Einar Hille Memorial Lecture in Neurosciences

February 2001
Bertill Hille recipient of Gairdner Foundation International Award

September 2000
Lawrence Katz presents Lamport Lecture

May 2000
Stanley Froehner named Chair of Physiology & Biophysics
Michael Shadlen selected as Hughes Investigator

January 13, 2000
Wayne Crill stepping down as chair; Albert Berger named acting chair

December 1999
Crill Endowment Established
Wayne Crill receives Distinguished Alumnus Award

September 1999
Bertil Hille co-recipient of 1999 Lasker Award