people

Department Directory

Faculty

Faculty by areas of interest

Emeritus Faculty

Students

Postdocs

Staff

Alumni

Former Postdocs

 

Student Profiles

Alumni Profiles

Faculty Essays

 

 

PBIO Photo Gallery

Faculty Areas of Interest

Cell and molecular biophysics

Living cells crawl, eat, grow, duplicate themselves, sense the world around them, signal each other, and work together in communities to form the organs and tissues of every living thing.  The aim of cell and molecular biophysics is to explain how these exquisite behaviors arise from physical interactions between molecules.  Biophysicists apply the principles of quantitative physical science to study fundamental problems in biology.  Often, this means building new instruments, and testing quantitative models of biological phenomena.  In a sense, biophysics is an exploration of the boundary between living things, and inanimate molecules.

Faculty

faculty photo

Chip Asbury
casbury@uw.edu

Molecular basis of biological motion



faculty photo

Daniel Cook
dcook@uw.edu

Physiological knowledge representation for multiscale biosimulation: Key to the virtual human



faculty photo

Peter Detwiler
detwiler@uw.edu

Cellular and molecular properties of sensory transducers



faculty photo

Sharona Gordon
seg@uw.edu

Molecular basis of sensory transduction



faculty photo

Bertil Hille
hille@uw.edu

Properties of ionic channels and receptors in excitable membranes



faculty photo

Duk-Su Koh
koh@uw.edu

Modulation of exocytotic secretion



faculty photo

Nicholas Poolos
npoolos@uw.edu

Physiology of neuronal dendrites



faculty photo

Bruce Ransom
bransom@uw.edu

Physiology of glial cells; pathophysiology of ischemic brain tissue injury



faculty photo

Mike Regnier
mregnier@uw.edu

Molecular mechanisms of striated muscle contractile regulation



faculty photo

Fred Rieke
rieke@uw.edu

Signal transduction in the visual system



faculty photo

Luis Fernando Santana
santana@uw.edu

Ca2+ signaling in cardiac and vascular smooth muscle



faculty photo

William Spain
spain@uw.edu

Properties of neocortex



faculty photo

Jane Sullivan
jmsull@uw.edu

Cellular and molecular mechanisms controlling synaptic transmission



faculty photo

Linda Wordeman
worde@uw.edu

Cell division; Molecular motors



faculty photo

William Zagotta
zagotta@uw.edu

Molecular mechanisms of ion channel function