people

Department Directory

Faculty

Faculty by areas of interest

Emeritus Faculty

Students

Postdocs

Staff

Alumni

Former Postdocs

 

Student Profiles

Alumni Profiles

Faculty Essays

 

 

PBIO Photo Gallery

Faculty Areas of Interest

Molecular physiology and neurobiology

The central goal of molecular physiology and neurobiology is to uncover the essential molecules, and the important interactions between these molecules, that underlie the dynamics of healthy cells.  In the long run, our limited understanding of the basic mechanisms of life is what limits our success in combating complex diseases like cancer, autoimmune, and neurodegenerative disease.  So the study of healthy cells and tissues is a cornerstone of medical research.  Scientists in these fields draw from an ever-growing array of techniques, including site-directed mutagenesis of proteins, high-resolution imaging of cells and tissues, and genetic manipulation of whole organisms.

Faculty

faculty photo

Marv Adams
marva@uw.edu

Molecular Scaffolds



faculty photo

Chip Asbury
casbury@uw.edu

Molecular basis of biological motion



faculty photo

Andres Barria
barria@uw.edu

Synaptic Physiology. Molecular Mechanisms of Synaptic Plasticity



faculty photo

Mark Bothwell
mab@uw.edu

Biochemical mechanisms of growth-factor action; molecular and cellular physiology of nerve growth factors



faculty photo

Linda Buck
lbuck@fhcrc.org

The Sensing of Odors and Pheromones



faculty photo

Steven Carlson
ssc1@uw.edu

Molecular and cellular physiology of synapse formation



faculty photo

Stanley Froehner
froehner@uw.edu

Regulation of Membrane Specializations by Protein Scaffolds: Implications for Human Diseases



faculty photo

Qinghang (Chris) Liu
qcliu@uw.edu

Molecular Signaling Mechanisms of Cardiac Hypertrophy and Heart Failure



faculty photo

David Perkel
perkel@uw.edu

Neural mechanisms of vocal learning



faculty photo

Mike Regnier
mregnier@uw.edu

Molecular mechanisms of striated muscle contractile regulation



faculty photo

Jane Sullivan
jmsull@uw.edu

Cellular and molecular mechanisms controlling synaptic transmission



faculty photo

Linda Wordeman
worde@uw.edu

Cell division; Molecular motors