people

Department Directory

Faculty

Faculty by areas of interest

Emeritus Faculty

Students

Postdocs

Staff

Alumni

Former Postdocs

 

Student Profiles

Alumni Profiles

Faculty Essays

 

 

PBIO Photo Gallery

Faculty Areas of Interest

Systems neuroscience

Systems neuroscience is concerned with how cells behave when connected together to form neural networks. Its goal is to expose the link between perception, action and higher cognitive functions on the one hand and cells and molecules on the other. Traditionally, "systems neuroscience" was defined as the study of the function of neural circuits in intact organisms, but today it also draws on molecular and cellular approaches to understand the mechanisms underlying the vast array of complex functions that underlie sensory, motor and cognitive function.

Faculty

faculty photo

Marc Binder
mdbinder@uw.edu

Input-Output Functions of Motoneurons



faculty photo

Elizabeth Buffalo
ebuffalo@uw.edu

Neural Mechanisms of Learning and Memory



faculty photo

Adrienne Fairhall
fairhall@uw.edu

Neural information processing systems



faculty photo

Eberhard Fetz
fetz@uw.edu

Cortical control of movement; neural modeling



faculty photo

Greg Horwitz
ghorwitz@uw.edu

Neural Basis of Color Perception



faculty photo

David Perkel
perkel@uw.edu

Neural mechanisms of vocal learning



faculty photo

Steve Perlmutter
perl@uw.edu

Neural Control of Limb Movements



faculty photo

Fred Rieke
rieke@uw.edu

Signal transduction in the visual system



faculty photo

Edwin Rubel
rubel@uw.edu

Auditory physiology; developmental neurobiology



faculty photo

Eric Shea-Brown
etsb@uw.edu

Dynamics and computation in neural circuits



faculty photo

Robert Steiner
steiner@uw.edu

Reproductive Neuroendocrinology