Physiology and Biophysics

June 4, 2018

Sharona Gordon’s work featured in Science magazine

To design programs that meet the career needs of postdoctoral scholars, it is essential to understand what those needs are. Sharona Gordon, professor of Physiology & Biophysics, together with Rebecca Price (UW-Bothell) and Ira Kantrowitz-Gordon (UW SON), recently published their work analyzing how postdoc’s scientific identities influenced their career goals. Their identified two discourses: bench…

January 12, 2018

Eb Fetz featured in The Economist

Eb Fetz was interviewed by The Economist about his work on brain-computer interfaces.  The story was featured in the magazine’s Technology Quarterly.

December 19, 2017

Beth Buffalo receives 2018 McKnight Memory and Cognitive Disorders Award

Beth Buffalo has been selected as one of 4 scientists to win the 2018 Memory and Cognitive Disorders Award by the McKnight Foundation.  The funds from this award will be used to study “Neural Dynamics of Memory and Cognition in the Primate Hippocampal Formation.”  The hippocampus is a small area of the brain associated with…

November 19, 2017

Stan Froehner elected AAAS Fellow

Stan Froehner is one of 8 UW faculty elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He was recognized for his research on muscular dystrophy, particularly the discovery and studies of syntrophins. The syntrophins are a family of proteins that link signaling proteins to dystrophin, the protein defective in Duchenne…

John Tuthill joins Next Generation Leaders advisory council at the Allen Institute for Brain Science

John Tuthill is the first University of Washington faculty member to be selected as a member of the Next Generation Leaders advisory council of the Allen Institute for Brain Science. He is one of six distinguished early-career researchers who will provide feedback in both formal and informal settings to scientists at the Allen Institute. The…

June 27, 2017

John Tuthill named Searle Scholar

John Tuthill, assistant professor of Physiology & Biophysics, is one of 15 early career scientists to be named a 2017 Searle Scholar. The Searle Scholars Program makes grants to selected universities and research centers to support the independent research of exceptional young faculty in the biomedical sciences and chemistry.  Congratulations, John! The last University of Washington faculty…

May 9, 2017

Eberhard Fetz and Stavros Zanos awarded $1.3M DARPA grant on vagus nerve stimulation and neuroplasticity

Eberhard Fetz and Stavros Zanos were awarded $1.3 million from DARPA for their work related to DARPA’s “Targeted Neuroplasticity Training” program. The goal of their research is to elucidate the mechanisms through which vagus nerve stimulation (VNS) alters brain function and to leverage VNS to enhance targeted cortical plasticity and augment cognitive performance in nonhuman…

March 31, 2017

John Tuthill awarded Sloan Fellowship

The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation announced today, Feb. 21, that UW Medicine neuroscience researcher John Tuthill is among three faculty members at the University of Washington who have been awarded early-career Sloan Fellowships. Tuthill is an assistant professor of physiology and biophysics at the UW School of Medicine. More at

February 22, 2017

HSNewsBeat: “A closer look at the eye’s sharp vision spot”

The UW and Howard Hughes Medical Center research team recently made the first direct comparisons of the physiological properties of foveal and peripheral retinal neurons and the first correlation between structure and function in the fovea.  The project was conducted in the laboratories of Fred Rieke in the UW Department of Physiology and Biophysics and…

October 14, 2016

Robert Steiner receives OHSU 2016 Jones Distinguished Alumnus Scientist Award

Robert Steiner has been recognized by the Oregon Health & Science with the 2016 Richard T. Jones Distinguished Alumnus Scientist Award. This award honors an alumnus/a from the OHSU School of Medicine’s Masters or Doctorate of Philosophy Degree programs who displays continued research excellence, service to the scientific community and contributions to basic science education….

Next page