HBCLS Home » Resources » Martin and Anne Jugum Scholarship in Labor Studies

Martin and Anne Jugum Scholarship in Labor Studies

Each year, the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies gives tuition scholarships to outstanding undergraduates who exhibit a commitment to labor research or practice. This year, the Bridges Center will award $5,500 to an outstanding undergraduate student. The center is currently seeking nominations for these awards, named after longtime International Longshore and Warehouse Union member and leader Martin Jugum and his wife Anne.

Scholarship winners must demonstrate high academic achievement and be enrolled for Autumn Quarter of the upcoming academic year.

Application Process

Students may apply directly or be nominated by a faculty member. In addition to the Jugum Scholarship, applicants will also be considered for the Gundlach Scholarship in Labor Studies, Samuel B. Bassett Scholarship in Labor Relations, and the Labor and Employment Relations Association Scholarship.

Required Application Materials

  1. A brief written statement by the applicant (not exceeding 750 words) explaining her or his commitment to the study of labor, involvement with the labor movement, or intention to pursue a career in labor relations.
  2. A brief letter of faculty support
  3. A copy of the student's transcript
  4. Include student's contact information, including email, mailing addresses, and phone number

Selection of the Jugum Scholarship recipients will be made by the Standing Committee of the Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies and presented at the Bridges Center's annual awards celebration.

Deadline for application for the 2017-2018 academic year

Monday, June 12, 2017

Send applications to

    Andrew Hedden, Assistant Director
    Harry Bridges Center for Labor Studies
    University of Washington
    Box 353530

Previous Winners

  • 1997: Ligaya Domingo
  • 1998: Jessica Roach
  • 1999: Garland Berrian & Eric Stowe
  • 2000: Kristina Anderson & Miguel Bocanegra
  • 2001: Noah Purcell, Rudy Mendoza & Natalie Kimball
  • 2002: Heather Anderson & Elizabeth Zamora
  • 2003: Akson Mounlamai & Adam Goodwin
  • 2004: Nowell Bamberger & Natalie Quist
  • 2005: Rachel Taber
  • 2006: Michael Schulze-Oechtering Castaņeda & Morgen Myrdal
  • 2007: Joseph Guanlao, George Robertson & Aaron Verzosa
  • 2008: April Nishimura & Lila Zucker
  • 2009: Laura O'Neil & Matt Reed
  • 2010: Peter Gallagher & Garrett Strain
  • 2011: Blake Barnett & Christine Woodward
  • 2012: Leo Baunach & Morgan Currier
  • 2013: Cesar Garcia & Jacqueline Wu
  • 2014: Lena Easton-Calabria & Rebecca Flores
  • 2015: Ari Hermida & Joe Stormer & Emilie Woodd
  • 2016: Diana Betancourt, Ari Hermida & Gordon Shelton-Jenck