background shadow


Our faculty direct research in many diverse areas such as
signaling; neurophysiology, behavior & memory; drug addiction;
stem cell biology & development; chromatin regulation;
and protein structure & function.






Localized signaling islands: a new target for precision drugs

Dr. John D. Scott, UW professor and chair of Pharmacology and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, along with
Dr. F. Donelson Smith (HHMI/UW) had new research results reported this week in the journal Science. These findings overturn long-held views on a basic messaging system within living cells. Because their range of action is limited to their immediate vicinity, these messaging stations could be ideal targets for precision drug design. These findings suggest new approaches to designing precisely targeted drugs for cancer and other serious diseases.

Video >>       



Yadong Huang, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor, University of California, San Francisco, will present ApoE4 and Alzheimer's Disease: Mechanisms and Therapeutic Strategies. Room D-209, 2:30PM, October, 17, 2017. Host: Dr. Daniel Storm.

View Pharmacology Seminars >>