background shadow background pic pharmacology



2002 Krebs Lecture

2002 Edwin G. Krebs Lectureship in Molecular Pharmacology

The Fifteenth Annual Edwin G. Krebs Lecture in Molecular Pharmacology
Sponsored by an endowment from Sterling Winthrop, Inc.

Regulation of transcriptional coactivators and corepressors

by: Richard H. Goodman, Ph.D.
Director and Senior Scientist, Vollum Institute
Professor, Departments of Medicine,
Cell and Developmental Biology
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
and Vice-Chairman , Department of Medicine
Oregon Health Sciences University

Thursday, June 27, 2002
3:30 PM, Room T-625 HSC

The major focus of the Goodman lab is to determine how extracellular and intracellular signals are integrated to regulate gene expression. The cAMP-regulated enhancer (CRE), initially identified in the Goodman lab, is now recognized to be a critical control element in many genes expressed in the nervous system and other tissues. The presence of this element in multiple gene promoters allows the coordinate regulation of gene expression. Transcriptional signals mediated by the CRE depend upon the transcription factor CREB, which is activated through multiple signaling pathways including cAMP and calcium. CREB phosphorylation leads to the recruitment of the CREB binding protein CBP, also identified in the Goodman lab. CBP was the first example of a metazoan transcriptional coactivator and has been shown to participate in virtually all positively-regulated transcriptional pathways. CBP activates gene expression by directing the recruitment of basal transcription factors to the promoter and by reversing the repressive effects of chromatin. A new focus of the lab is to elucidate the actions of the transcriptional corepressor CtBP, whose functions exactly oppose those of CBP. The lab is interested in particular in the ability of CtBP to serve as a redox sensor for transcription. Dr. Goodman serves on the National Advisory Council for the National Institute of Digestive, Diabetes and Kidney Diseases and was formerly chairman of the NIDDK Board of Scientific Counselors. He has received many awards, including the Medical Research Foundation of Oregon Discovery Award and the McKnight Neuroscience Senior Investigator Award. He was elected into the National Academy of Sciences in 2002.