background shadow background pic pharmacology



1990 Krebs Lecture

1990 Edwin G. Krebs Lectureship in Molecular Pharmacology

The Third Annual Edwin G. Krebs Lecture in Molecular Pharmacology
Sponsored by an endowment from the Sterling Research Group
G Proteins and Regulation of Adenylyl Cyclase
Alfred G. Gilman, Ph.D.
Raymond and Ellen Willie Professor, Department of Molecular Neuropharmacology, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School

Wednesday, May 6, 1990
3:30 PM, Room T-625 HSC

Dr. Gilman is a leading investigator of the mechanisms by which cell surface receptors for hormones and drugs regulate intracellular processes. His early work established the first convenient method for measurement of cyclic AMP, the intracellular mediator of the actions of many hormones and drugs. Dr. Gilman's more recent work has led to identification of the guanyl nucleotide binding proteins (G proteins) which regulate cAMP synthesis by adenylate cyclase and to elucidation of their structure and mechanism of action. These proteins are activated by interaction with cell surface receptors and in turn regulate adenylate cyclase and many other intracellular effector proteins. In addition, adenylate cyclase itself has been purified, its genes have been cloned, and its primary structure has been determined. This work now provides the first example of a structurally defined, multi-component transmembrane signalling pathway and establishes a strong foundation for further analysis of the molecular basis of signal transduction. Dr. Gilman's work exemplifies the goal of research in molecular pharmacology to provide insight into the molecular basis for the actions of hormones and drugs.

Dr. Gilman received both a Ph.D. in Pharmacology and an M.D. degree from Case-Western Reserve University. Following a period of postdoctoral work as a Pharmacology Research Associate at the National Institutes of Health, he joined the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Virginia School of Medicine and advanced to Professor before moving to his present position in Dallas. Dr. Gilman has been a member of numerous advisory boards and of the editorial boards of several journals including the Journal of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology. His research contributions have been recognized by election to the National Academy of Sciences and selection for numerous distinguished lectureships and awards including the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award, the Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize, and the Passano Foundation Award within the past year.