background shadow background pic pharmacology



1995 Krebs Lecture

1995 Edwin G. Krebs Lectureship in Molecular Pharmacology

The Eighth Annual Edwin G. Krebs Lecture in Molecular Pharmacology
Sponsored by an endowment from Sterling Winthrop, Inc.
cAMP-dependent Protein Kinase: Structural Insights for Regulation and Catalysis
Susan S. Taylor, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California, San Diego

Wednesday, May 17, 1995
3:30 PM, Room T-739 HSC

Dr. Taylor is a leader in the study of the structure and function of proteins. She is especially well known for her recent work on the cAMP-dependent protein kinase. For example, her work was instrumental in establishing the location of the two cAMP binding sites in the regulatory subunits of this enzyme and the ATP binding site in its catalytic subunit. She also identified sites of interaction between the subunits in the native tetrameric complex of two catalytic and two regulatory subunits. Following her development of methods for high level expression of the protein kinase subunits in bacteria, Dr. Taylor and her collaborator Dr. Janusz Sowadski were able to crystallize the catalytic subunit of the enzyme and determine its three-dimensional structure. This brilliant work provided the first detailed view of the structure of a protein kinase and has yielded insights into the molecular basis of the catalytic function of the entire family of protein kinases. Most recently, Dr. Taylor and Dr. Roger Tsien have developed a novel method for determination of cAMP concentrations within living cells and used this method to provide the first real-time measurements of changes in this second messenger in response to hormone activation of receptors on the cell surface. Dr. Taylor's work illustrates the power of combining the methods of protein chemistry and structural biology in analyzing the mechanisms of action of hormones and drugs at the molecular level.

Dr. Taylor received her B.A. in Chemistry from the University of Wisconsin and her Ph.D. in Physiological Chemistry from Johns Hopkins University. Following a period of postdoctoral study with Professor Brian Hartley at the Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, England and with Professor Nathan Kaplan at the University of California, San Diego, she joined the faculty of the Department of Chemistry at UCSD in 1972. Dr. Taylor is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Her research has been recognized by selection for numerous distinguished lectureships and awards including the Earl W Sutherland Memorial Lecture of the University of Miami, the Drummond Memorial Lecture of the University of Calgary, and the Leslie Hellerman Memorial Lecture of Johns Hopkins University. She has served on the editorial board of the Journal of Biological Chemistry and on the Council and Publications Committee of the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. ln July, she will begin a term as President of the American Society of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Biology.