education & mentoring awards

The David J. Pierson, MD Award for Excellence in Education and Mentoring

David J. Pierson. MDDavid J. Pierson. MD

The Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at the University of Washington prides itself in the strong clinical teaching, career development and mentoring the faculty provide for our fellows. The Division has established an award to acknowledge those faculty who are recognized by the fellows as being especially dedicated to their education and mentoring. The award is named for David J. Pierson who was a quintessential educator and mentor in our Division for more than 35 years.

Dave is a gifted clinician, a superb teacher, a prolific author and an international leader in respiratory care. He was recruited to the University of Washington in 1976 to be the Medical Director of the Respiratory Care Department at Harborview Medical Center. He ran our fellowship-training program for nearly 20 years and was deeply involved in the career development of our fellows and junior faculty. Dave was the Director of Clinical Education within our Division from 1983-97 and led the Greater Seattle Area Chest Grand Rounds for decades. He continues to be revered within our Division as one of the best clinicians in Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine. He has an exceptional ability to explain his reasoning to housestaff and fellows when teaching at bedside. He has trained countless housestaff and fellows during his 35 years as a clinician at Harborview Medical Center. In recognition of his excellence in teaching and clinical care, Dave received the prestigious Marvin Turck Award for career achievement and education within the Department of Medicine. After dedicating nearly his entire academic career to the University of Washington, Dave retired from the Division in 2011 and is currently an Emeritus Professor of Medicine.

The third year class of Pulmonary and Critical Care fellows bestow the award each year. The third year class has the full perspective of their training, from their clinical through their research years and has had the opportunity to interact with all of our faculty. The class selects the individual who they believe contributed the most to their education and mentoring during their ACGME fellowship training.

Past Awardees

2012 Recipient Moira Aitken, MD
2013 Recipient Jeff Edelman, MD
2014 Recipient Josh Benditt, MD

top of page