Director

Ben Fitzhugh

QRC Director
fitzhugh@uw.edu

Human-environmental dynamics and archaeological histories of maritime/coastal hunter-gathers.


Faculty
| Staff | Emeritus Faculty

Name

Contact

Research Interests

Alexander, Becky
Becky Alexander

Assistant Professor
beckya@atmost.washington.edu
206-543-0164

Atmostpheric chemistry
Climate change

Atwater, Brian
Brian Atwater

Professor
atwater@uw.edu
206-533-2927

Quaternary Geology
Paleoseismology

Bitz, Cecilia

Professor
bitz@atmost.washington.edu
206-543-1339

Role of sea ice in the climate system and high-latitude climate and climate change
Predictability of Arctic sea ice
Role of aerosols and other short-lived species as a source of Arctic decadal variability
Global coupled climate modeling

Booth, Derek

Editor, Quaternary Research
Professor
dbooth@uw.edu

Geomorphology
Seattle Geological Mapping Project

Bourgeois, Jody

Professor
jbourgeo@uw.edu

Sedimentation in tectonically active areas
Paleoseismology and neotectonics, esp. tsunami and Paleotsunami studies;
interpretation of sedimentary structures

Brown, Michael

Assistant Professor
brown@ess.washington.edu
206-616-6058

Experimental and theoretical mineral physics

Collins, Brian

Lecturer
bcollins@uw.edu
206-685-1910

Crider, Juliet

Assistant Professor
criderj@uw.edu
206-543-8715

Neotectonics
Structural geology
Crustal deformation
Evolution of topography
Fault zone processes

Demar, David

Graduate Student
ddemar@uw.edu

Deming, Jody

Professor
jdeming@uw.edu
260-543-0845

Micro-scale foraging and survival strategies of marine microorganisms
Cold adaptation in marine microorganisms and relevance to polar geochemistry and ecology
Limits of microbial life

Duvall, Alison

Assistant Professor
aduvall@uw.edu
206-221-8311

Tectonics
Geomorphology
Landscape evolution
Applied geosciences

Feather, James

Research Associate Professor
jimf@uw.edu
206-685-1659

Application of luminescence dating to address chronological problems in archaeology

Graumlich, Lisa

Dean, College of the Environment
envdean@uw.edu

Grayson, Donald K.

Professor
grayson@uw.edu
206-543-5587

Human Paleoecology

Hakim, Greg

Professor
ghakim@uw.edu
206-685-2439

Predictability
Hurricanes
State estimation ("data assimilation")
Atmospheric dynamics
Paleoclimate
Decadal prediction

Hallet, Bernard

Professor
hallet@uw.edu
206-685-2409

Glacial, periglacial and arid lands
Geomorphology planetary
Processes that shape Alpine and Arctic landscapes

Hartmann, Dennis

Professor
dhartman@uw.edu
206-543-7460

Low-frequency variability in the atmosphere and climate system with climate change

Heath, Ross

Professor
rheath@uw.edu

Isotopic and Chemical Signatures of Marine Sediments

Horner-Devine, Alexander

Assistant Professor
arhd@uw.edu
206-685-3032

Environmental fluid mechanics
Coastal oceanography and geophysical fluid dynamics
River plumes
Laboratory experiments and field observations

Huntington, Kate

Assistant Professor
kate1@uw.edu
206-543-1750

Tectonics
Erosion
Surface processes
Paleotopography
Paleoclimate geochemistry
Clumped isotope thermometry
Thermochronology
Thermo-kinematic modeling

Jaffe, Dan

Professor
djaffe@uw.edu
425-352-5357

Global and regional atmospheric pollution

Joughin, Ian

Affiliated Professor
ian@apl.washington.edu
206-221-3177

SAR interferometry
Surface motion and topography of ice sheets

Lape, Peter

Professor
plape@uw.edu

Island landscapes and seascapes
Cross cultural interactions such as trade and warfare, human-environment interactions and climate change

Lundquist, Jessica

Associate Professor
jdlund@uw.edu
206-685-7594

Spatial patterns of snow and weather in the mountains

Marwick, Ben

Assistant Professor
bmarwick@uw.edu
206-552-9450

Southeast Asian Archeology
Placeostocene/hunter gatherer's adaptation
Geoarcheology
Stone tools
Data visulization and standardization

Montgomery, David

Professor
dave@ess.washington.edu
206-685-2560

Geomorphology

Nittrouer, Charles

Professor
nittrouer@ess.washington.edu
206-543-5099

Sediment Strata
Coastal and continental-margin sedimentation marine geology and geophysics

Quay, Paul D.

Professor
pdquay@uw.edu
206-685-8061

Radioisotope

Richey, Jeffrey

Professor
jrichey@uw.edu

Biochemistry

Roe, Gerard

Professor
roe@ess.washington.edu
206-697-3298

Atmospheric and Climate Dynamics
Surface processes
Paleoclimate

Sachs, Julian

Professor
jsachs@uw.edu
206-221-5630

Paleoclimatology
Organic geochemistry
Tropical climate of the last 2,000 years
Late quaternary climate

Schauer, Andrew

Iso Lab Manager
aschauer@uw.edu
206-543-6327

Isotope analysis

Schindler, Daniel

Professor
deschind@uw.edu
206-616-6724

Dynamics in aquatic ecosystems

Shreve, Ron

shreve@uw.edu

Geomorphology
Quaternary Geology
Glaciology
Geological Physics

Sletten, Ronald S.

Research Assistant Professor

Chemical Processes in Soils
Permafrost physical and chemical processes
Periglacial geomorphology
Natural water chemistry
Mars planetary science

Smith, Benjamin

Physicist

Changes in the Antarctic and Greenland ice sheets

Steig, Eric

Professor
steig@uw.edu
206-685-3715

Paleoclimatology
Glaciology
Isotope Geochemistry

Stein, Julie

Professor
jkstein@uw.edu

Geoarchaeology
Coastal Adaptions

Stone, John

Associate Professor
stone@ess.washington.edu

Isotope geochemistry
Quaternary geology
geomorphology
geochronology
Antarctic glaciation

Stromberg, Caroline

Assistant Professor
caestrom@uw.edu
206-543-1687

Cenozoic evolution of grasses and grazers
Origin, early diversification, and biogeography of the grass clade
Ecology of late cretaceous angiosperms

Swanson, Terry

Principal Lecturer
tswanson@ess.washington.edu

Quaternary geology
Glacial geomorphology
Environmental geology
Geochronology

Thornton, Joel

Associate Professor
thorton@atmos.washington.edu
206-543-4010

Impacts of energy generation on air quality and the atmosphere's natural oxidizing capacity

Waddington, Ed

Professor
edw@uw.edu

Paleo-climatology
Glaciology

Warren, Stephen

Professor
sgw@atmos.washington.edu

Climatology

Wilson, Greg

Assistant Professor
gpwilson@uw.edu
206-543-8917

Cretaceous-tertiary boundary
Tooth shape and diet
Phylogeny and ecology
Paleobiogeography

Winebrenner, Dale

Research Professor
dpw@apl.washington.edu

Applied physics
Glaciology
Remote sensing

Woodgate, Rebecca

Associate Professor
woodgate@apl.washington.edu
206-221-3268

Circulation of the Arctic Ocean

Return to Top

Faculty | Staff | Emeritus Faculty

Name

Contact

Research Interests

Barton, Bax R. Librarian
Editor, Quaternary Research
Quaternary palaeoecology
Pleistocene megafauna and extinctions
Geoarchaeology
Terrestrial/aquatic molluscs
Keo, Monick Director's Assistant
monick@uw.edu
206-543-1166
Montgomery, Marilyn Dean for Advancement
mmmontg@uw.edu
Perring, Karin Managing Editor, Quaternary Research
Troost, Kathy Program Coordinator
ktroost@uw.edu

Return to Top

Faculty | Staff | Emeritus Faculty

Name

Contact

Research Interests

Anderson, Patricia anderson@ess.washington.edu
206-685-7682
Palynology
Paleoecology
Brubaker, Linda B. ibru@uw.edu
206-543-5778
Dendrochronology
Palynology

Close, Angela E.

aeclose@uw.edu

North African Stone Age
Journal of World Prehistory

Eck, Gerarld

ggeck@uw.edu

Exploration of East African Plion
Pleistocene mamalian faunas
Fossil record of African human and monkey evolution

Gillespie, Alan

arg3@uw.edu
206-685-8265

Remote Sensing

Greenberg, Harvey hgreen@uw.edu GIS
Kohn, Alan kohn@uw.edu
206-616-4383
Paleobiology
Leopold, Estella eleopold@uw.edu
206-685-1151
Reconstructioning past climates, vegetation, and associated earth processes.
Porter, Stephen C. Glacial and Quaternary Geology
Raymond, Charles F. charlie@ess.washington.edu Glaciology and ice sheet dynamics
Stuiver,Minze minze@uw.edu
206-685-1735
Isotope Geology
UW Quaternary Isotope Laboratory
Tsukada, Matsuo tsukada@uw.edu Late Quaternary Ecology; Paleoclimatology

Return to Top

Home   |   About   |   People   |   Research   |   Journal   |   Resource Center   |   Events   |   Facilities


University of Washington