Knauss Sea Grant Fellowship

The National Sea Grant Federal Fellows Program/Dean John A. Knauss Marine Policy Fellowship was established in 1979 to provide a unique educational experience to students who have an interest in ocean, coastal and Great Lakes resources, and in the national policy decisions affecting those resources. The program, sponsored by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) National Sea Grant College Program, matches highly qualified graduate students with hosts in the legislative branch, the executive branch or appropriate associations/institutions located in the Washington, D.C., area for a one-year paid fellowhip. For more information, check out their website.

Recent Recipients


Bonnie DeJoseph


Rebecca Jablonski-Diehl and Meghan Massua


Ethan Lucas worked at Coral Reef Watch, part of the national Satellite and Information Services Office and Chelsea Combest-Friedman was a Cimate Program Analyst in the Climate Program Office at NOAA.


Joe Zelasney and Danielle Rioux


Mark Gleason worked for a year as staff member in a Congressional office or in a federal agency, addressing marine issues.


Katie Lassiter worked in the of Washington, DC office of Senator Patty Murray (D-WA).


Jennifer Kassakian worked with the House Subcommittee on Fisheries, Wildlife and Oceans, within the Committee on Natural Resources, for the US House of Representatives, in Washington, DC.


Melissa Andersen worked for the US Fish and Wildlife Service's Division of Habitat and Resource Conservation, Branch of Resource Management Support.
Kevin Lodge Grant worked for the NOAA Oceans National Marine Sanctuary Program.
Francis Brie Van Cleve worked for Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA).

Past Knauss Fellows

Year Knauss Fellow Appointment
2004 Jenny Hernandez Representative Frank Pallone's office
2003 Bridget Ferriss
Kevin Wood
Senate Subcommitte on Oceans, Fisheries and Atmosphere
NOAA Arctic Research Office
2002 Seema Balwani
Kate Smukler
Jeannette Waddell
Office of Senator Daniel K. Akaka, Hawaii
National Center for Marine Protected Areas
Center for Coastal Monitoring and Assessments Biogeography Program
2001 Antonia Fairbanks Office of Polar Programs, National Science Foundation
2000 Jennifer Murphy
Michele Pico
Sean Willard
House Committee on Resources, Majority
Senator Judd Gregg
NOAA Office of Global Programs
1999 N/A N/A
1998 John Field
Eli Weissman
Congressman Miller, House Resource Committee, Minority
Congressman Frank Pallone, Jr.
1997 Theresa Marsh
Kate Wing
NMFS Office of Protected Resources, Biodiversity Team
Senate Subcommittee on Ocean, Fisheries and Wildlife
1996 Coalter Lathrop
Catherine Marzin
Glenn Merrill
NMFS Office of Science & Technology
Office of the Oceanographer of the Navy
Senate Subcommittee on Oceans and Fisheries
1995 N/A N/A
1994 Alton Straub Senator John Glenn
1993 Brenda Hood
Frank Lockhart
Senator John Kerry
House Merchant Marine and Fisheries
1992 David Jansen Senator John Kerry
1991 N/A N/A
1990 Jean Flemma House Merchant Marine and Fisheries
1989 Wendy Graham (deceased)
Karen Holtz (deceased)
House Science and Tech.
1988 Vernon Ross
Delores Wesson
House Merchant Marine and Fisheries (full committee)
1987 Laura Geselbracht
Matthew Wells
Senator Lowell Weicker
1986 Xan Augerot
Gary Shigenaka
Senate Commerce
1985 Deborah Trefts House Merchant Marine and Fisheries (full committee)
1984 James Buizer NOAA/OAR/International
1983 Kevin McManus
Monique Trainor-Rutledge
Susan O'Malley Wade
House Merchant Marine and Fisheries
1982 Dan Ashe
Erik Stromberg
House Merchant Marine and Fisheries (full committee)
Corp. Glenn Anderson
1981 Gina DeFerrari
Paul Vincent
House Merchant Marine and Fisheries
Senate Commerce Committee
1980 Darrell Brown House Merchant Marine and Fisheries
1979 Chris Dawson
James Rendell (deceased)
Senate Commerce Committee