Doctor of Audiology Program
ASHA Certification Requirements

The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) is the professional, scientific and credentialing association for audiologists, speech-language pathologists, and speech, language and hearing scientists. ASHA oversees the credentialing of academic programs, clinical certification, continuing education and clinical specialty recognition.

  • The Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC-A), granted by ASHA, is an internationally recognized professional credential for audiologists. While the certification process is voluntary, ASHA certification verifies to the public, employers, regulatory bodies, insurance companies and colleagues that professionals with a CCC-A have met rigorous standards in terms of preparation and training and ongoing continuing education and professional development.
  • The Council for Clinical Certification in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CFCC) is the credentialing body of ASHA. The CFCC defines the standards for clinical certification (CCC-SLP); applies those standards in granting certification to individuals; and administers the certification maintenance program. Importantly, the standards they set outline the specific knowledge and skill requirements for the profession, which includes both undergraduate and graduate-level coursework.

Effective January 1, 2012, all applicants for ASHA’s Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) will be evaluated according to the 2012 certification standards in audiology. To apply for ASHA certification, Doctor of Audiology graduates must provide documentation that they have completed the following:

  1. Doctoral degree from a program accredited by the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA), that meets all ASHA knowledge and skill requirements for independent practice in the audiology profession
  2. Passing score on the national Praxis exam in audiology

1. Doctoral Degree

The Doctor of Audiology program at the University of Washington is accredited by ASHA’s Council on Academic Accreditation (CAA). For that reason, students completing the Au.D. program meet all ASHA’s standards for Doctoral level education in audiology and are eligible to apply for ASHA’s Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC).

2. Passing score on the national Praxis exam in Audiology

The national Praxis Exam is administered through the Education Testing Service (ETS) and measures knowledge important for beginning, independent audiology practitioners in all primary employment settings, including schools, hospitals, clinics, private practice, etc.

Students should review the ETS Praxis Study Companion for Audiology. The exam consists of 120 multiple-choice questions and lasts 2 hours. Questions cover the following major content areas:

  • Foundations (~10%)
  • Prevention and Identification (~10%)
  • Assessment (~40%)
  • Intervention (~30%)
  • Professional Issues (~10%)

ETS recently changed the scoring scale for the Audiology Praxis exam. The exam scores are now reported on a 100-200 score scale in one point increments, and a passing score of 170 or greater is required by ASHA for certification. (Previously, the exam was scored on a 250-990 scale with a minimum score requirement of 600 for certification).

The exam is typically taken by students who have completed or are at the end of their Doctoral degree program, once foundational didactic and clinical coursework requirements are met. A summary of our graduate student performance on the Praxis exam is located on our Student Outcome Data page.