Research Preceptors

Preceptor Department Research interests Email
Les Atlas Electrical Engineering Time-frequency and time-scale analysis; biomimetic acoustic analysis; speech recognition and analysis atlas@ee.washington.edu
Michael Beecher Psychology Bird song as a model learning system beecher@u.washington.edu
Eliot Brenowitz Psychology, Biology Song control system in the brains of song birds eliotb@u.washington.edu
Julie Bierer Speech and Hearing Sciences Cochlear implant psychophysics and physiology jbierer@u.washington.edu
Truman Coggins Speech and Hearing Sciences Language acquisition and disorders tec@u.washington.edu
Ellen Covey Psychology Neural mechanisms of auditory temporal processing ecovey@u.washington.edu
Tanya Eadie Speech and Hearing Sciences Voice disorders teadie@u.washington.edu
Diane Kendall Speech and Hearing Sciences Models and theories of aphasia; aphasia rehabilitation dkendall@u.washington.edu
Sara Kover Speech and Hearing Sciences Language development in children with neurodevelopmental disorders skover@uw.edu
Patricia Kuhl Speech and Hearing Sciences Behavioral and brain studies of speech processing pkkuhl@u.washington.edu
Adrian KC Lee Speech and Hearing Sciences Auditory Brain Sciences and Neuroengineering akclee@u.washington.edu
Ludo Max Speech and Hearing Sciences Sensorimotor control in normal speech and stuttering LudoMax@u.washington.edu
Andrew Meltzoff Psychology Cognitive development meltzoff@u.washington.edu
David Perkell Biology, Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery Neural mechanisms of vocal learning in songbirds perkel@u.washington.edu
Edwin Rubel Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery, Physiology-Biophysics Auditory development, hair cell regeneration, effects of experience on brain development rubel@u.washington.edu
Jay Rubinstein Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery Computational biophysics, electrophysiology, psychophysics, cochlear implants rubinj@u.washington.edu
Joseph Sisneros Psychology Auditory processing of acoustic communication signals sisneros@u.washington.edu
Kristie Spencer Speech and Hearing Sciences Cognitive and motoric response preparation in movement disorders kas@u.washington.edu
Jessica Sullivan Speech and Hearing Sciences Pediatric Aural Rehabilitation sulli10@u.washington.edu
Bruce Tempel Otolaryngology - Head and Neck Surgery Functional role of voltage-gated potassium channels in auditory nervous system bltempel@u.washington.edu
Kelly Tremblay Speech and Hearing Sciences Experience-related changes in central auditory system tremblay@u.washington.edu
Lynne Werner Speech and Hearing Sciences Human auditory development lawerner@u.washington.edu
Kathy Yorkston Rehabilitation Medicine Neurologic communication disorders in adults yorkston@u.washington.edu