Current Students
National Student Speech, Language and Hearing Association (NSSLHA)

NSSLHA’s Mission

NSSLHA is a pre-professional membership association for students interested in the study of communication sciences and disorders. The association’s mission is:

  • To advocate for students at the national, state, and local level
  • To forge professional relationships between audiologist and speech-language pathologists (SLPs)
  • To provide resources to help prepare students for a professional career
  • To facilitate the transition from membership in NSSLHA to membership in the American Speech-Language and Hearing Association (ASHA) and other organizations that provide entry into the speech and hearing professions.


The local UW chapter of NSSLHA acts as a student-led forum for those pursuing clinical and research careers in speech-language pathology or audiology. In collaboration with regional and national partners, we aim to connect our members with valuable information, networking, resources, and other opportunities that will help them succeed in this pursuit. Additionally, UW NSSLHA is committed to supporting our community as a whole, through regular fundraising efforts and volunteer services.

Past UW NSSLHA events include:

  • Fundraising to assist with the purchase of new equipment for the UW Speech and Hearing Clinic
  • Donations to the American Speech-Language-Hearing (ASH) Foundation
  • Canned goods drives for the local Food Bank
  • Advisor panels for prospective graduate students
  • Graduate student mentor program
  • Q&A sessions (“fireside chats”) with faculty members regarding current research
  • Resume/application workshops
  • Networking mixers

NSSLHA Officers & Liaisons / 2015 - 2016

Co Presidents: Keaton Urling-Ehinger
Elizabeth McKeen
Vice President: Jessica Galvez
Secretary: Jennifer Holmes
Treasurer: Erik Lang
Historian: Yanitta Cantu
Community Service Chair:  Josie Stump
Fundraising Chair: Maria Merakov
Social Chair: Alexandra Simon
Student Services Adviser:   Gabrielle Gruber
Faculty Adviser: Tanya Eadie

Contacts & Links

National NSSLHA:

Shamrock Run   Halloween Bake Sale