Current Board

Chair:
  • Kevin Ward
    kevin.ward@ manchester.ac.uk
    U of Manchester

Vice Chair:
  • Deborah Martin
    demartin@clarku.edu
    Clark

Board Members:
  • Nazgol Bagheri
    Nazgol.Bagheri@utsa.edu
    University of Texas-San Antonio
  • Kate Driscoll Derickson
    kdericks@umn.edu
    University of Minnesota
  • Hongmian Gong
    gong@hunter.cuny.edu
    CUNY-Hunter College
  • Kevin Keenan
    KeenanK@cofc.edu
    College of Charleston
  • Colleen McTague
    colleen.mctague@uc.edu
    University of Cincinnati
  • Sara Metcalf
    smetcalf@buffalo.edu SUNY-Buffalo
    • Sandra Zupan
      sandra.zupan@uky.edu
      University of Kentucky

    Student Board Members:
    • Ben Gerlofs
      Rutgers University
    • Dylan Simone
      McMaster University

Kevin Ward, UGSG President

Kevin Ward, UGSG President

Welcome, and thanks for the visiting the website of the Urban Geography Speciality Group (UGSG).  With 1130 members, the UGSG is one of the largest of the Association of American Geographers’ 65 specialty groups.  It has come a long way since 29 urban geographers met at the 1979 AAG annual conference in Philadelphia as part of the process of gaining official recognition for the Group (click here for the minutes of that first meeting!)

The general remit of the UGSG is to foster research in urban geography in the US and beyond by organising meetings, seminars, developing networks among urban geographers and other social scientists, and promoting the publication of research.

As you will see from this website, the UGSG is involved in a number of activities.  We sponsor many sessions at the annual AAG annual conference.  We are also award Prizes to recognise faculty, postgraduate and undergraduate research excellence in urban geography.  Although we no longer publish newsletters, the website contains past copies, demonstrating the contribution the Speciality Group has made to the advancement to urban geography.  The “History” tab details the emergence and the evolution of the UGSG over the last five decades.

Of course, we are always looking for new things to do to promote and develop urban geography!  So please get in touch if you have any ideas about the UGSG; these may range from simply suggesting links for the website to proposing new events or activities we could be pursuing.  We would be delighted to hear from you.