Current Board

  • Kevin Ward
    U of Manchester

Vice Chair:
  • Deborah Martin

Board Members:
  • Nazgol Bagheri
    University of Texas-San Antonio
  • Kate Driscoll Derickson
    University of Minnesota
  • Hongmian Gong
    CUNY-Hunter College
  • Kevin Keenan
    College of Charleston
  • Colleen McTague
    University of Cincinnati
  • Sara Metcalf SUNY-Buffalo
    • Sandra Zupan
      University of Kentucky

    Student Board Members:
    • Ben Gerlofs
      Rutgers University
    • Dylan Simone
      McMaster University


The Urban Geography Speciality Group (UGSG) is open to all members of the Association of American Geographers, both students and non-students.  The yearly fee is just $2.00.  To become a member of the affinity group, simply select UGSG from the list found in the “Specialty and Affinity Group Memberships” section of the AAG’s membership application form.  If you are already a member of the AAG and would like to join the affinity group, please contact the AAG at (202)-234-1450

To receive news about our activities and awards join the listserv. (Note: AAG membership is not required to join our listserv.)

Membership Checklist

  1. Join when you renew your membership or become a member of the AAG
  2. Sign up for our listserv
  3. Visit the UGSG Knowledge Community at the AAG
  4. Reap the benefits of UGSG membership!