Current Board

Chair:
  • Kevin Ward
    kevin.ward@ manchester.ac.uk
    U of Manchester

Vice Chair:
  • Deborah Martin
    demartin@clarku.edu
    Clark

Board Members:
  • Nazgol Bagheri
    Nazgol.Bagheri@utsa.edu
    University of Texas-San Antonio
  • Kate Driscoll Derickson
    kdericks@umn.edu
    University of Minnesota
  • Hongmian Gong
    gong@hunter.cuny.edu
    CUNY-Hunter College
  • Kevin Keenan
    KeenanK@cofc.edu
    College of Charleston
  • Colleen McTague
    colleen.mctague@uc.edu
    University of Cincinnati
  • Sara Metcalf
    smetcalf@buffalo.edu SUNY-Buffalo
    • Sandra Zupan
      sandra.zupan@uky.edu
      University of Kentucky

    Student Board Members:
    • Ben Gerlofs
      Rutgers University
    • Dylan Simone
      McMaster University

Past Chairs

Since the formation of the Urban Geography Speciality Group (UGSG) in late 1979/early 1980, we know of seventeen chairs. Deb Martin is our eighteenth. If you were a chair and are not listed below then please get in touch!

1980 – 1982 Tom Baerwald (Science Museum of Minnesota)

1982 – 1983 Elizabeth Burns (University of Utah)

1983 – 1984 David Hodge (University of Washington)

1984 – 1985 Roman Cybriwsky (Temple University)

1985 – 1986 Bob Lake (Rutgers University)

1986 -1987 Peter O Mueller (University of Miami)

1986 – 1987 W Randy Smith (Ohio State University)

1987 – 1988 Hazel A Morrow-Jones (University of Colorado)

1988  1996  Unknown

1996 – 1998 Stuart Aitken (San Diego State University)

1998 – 2000 Helga Leitner (University of Minnesota)

2000 – 2002 Judith Kenny (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)

2002 – 2004 Geraldine Pratt (UBC)

2004 – 2006 Katharyne Mitchell (University of Washington)

2006 – 2008 Eugene McCann (Simon Fraser University)

2008 – 2010 James DeFilippis (Rutgers University)

2010 – 2012 Sarah Elwood (University of Washington)

2012 – 2014 Kevin Ward (University of Manchester)

2014 – 2016 Deborah Martin (Clark University)

 

*Website still undergoing historical reconstruction; check back soon for more information!