Interdisciplinary PhD Program in Urban Design & Planning

header

Faculty

Dan Abramson, Urban Design and Planning
DUP, 1998, Tsinghua University
Urban identity, conservation and design; housing and community development; urban studies in emergent/resurgent market economies and transnational communities
Email: abramson@u.washington.edu

Marina Alberti, (Director of PhD Program), Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 1992, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Environmental planning, urban ecology, impact assessment, geographic information systems
Email: malberti@u.washington.edu

Christine Bae, Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 1994, University of Southern California
Transportation planning, growth management and land use planning, community development
Email: cbae@u.washington.edu

Joel Baker, Environmental Science, UW Tacoma
Ph.D. 1988, University of Minnesota
The transport of organic contaminants in the environment, specifically atmospheric transport and deposition, aerosol chemistry, the dynamics of contaminant transport in estuaries, and modeling the exposure and transfer of bioaccumulative chemicals in aquatic food webs
Email: jebaker@u.washington.edu

William B. Beyers, (Professor Emeritus) Geography
Ph.D. 1967, University of Washington
Regional science, economic geography, location theory, regional analysis
Email: beyers@u.washington.edu

Christopher Bitter, Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 2008, University of Arizona
Housing and commercial real estate market dynamics, urban land economics, and sustainable development.
Email: bitter@uw.edu

Hilda Blanco, (Professor Emeritus) Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 1989, University of California, Berkeley
Land use planning, comprehensive planning, neighborhood planning, infrastructure, finance
Email: hblanco@u.washington.edu

Derek Booth, (Affiliate Professor) Civil and Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. 1984, University of Washington
Analysis of consequences of geologic processes on land-use with a focus on stream channels; prediction of future hazards to human activity as a result of ongoing urban development
Email: dbooth@u.washington.edu

Branden Born, Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 2003, Wisconsin (Madison)
Planning process and social justice, particularly with regard to the inclusion of marginalized populations in societal decision-making; land use planning and regionalism; urban food systems planning and policy.
Email: bborn@u.washington.edu

Alan Borning, Computer Science & Engineering
Ph.D. 1979, Stanford
Land use, transportation, and environmental modeling; human-computer interaction; constraint-based languages and systems
Email: borning@cs.washington.edu

Ann Bostrom, Evans School of Public Affairs
Ph.D. 1990, Carnegie Mellon University
Risk perception, communication, and management; and environmental policy and decision making
Email: abostrom@u.washington.edu

Linda Ng Boyle, Industrial and Systems Engineering & Civil & Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. 1998, University of Washington
Driving behavior, crash countermeasures, crash and safety analysis, and statistical modeling
Email: linda@uw.edu

Gordon Bradley, Forest Resources
Ph.D. 1986, University of Michigan
Foreign land use, urban forest interface studies, environmental planning
Email: gbradley@u.washington.edu

Christopher Campbell, Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 2002, California (Los Angeles) 
Community processes and structures, social and place identity, participatory and democratic planning processes, planning education
Email: ccamp1@u.washington.edu

Manish Chalana, Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 2005, University of Colorado
Historic preservation planning, international planning and development; and urban history
Email: chalana@uw.edu

Kam Wing Chan, Geography
Ph.D. 1988, Toronto
Urban and economic geography; migration; labor market, urban finance; China
Email: kwchan@uw.edu

Cynthia Chen, Civil & Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. 2001, University of California at Davis
Land use and travel behavior, the innovative usage of GPS in travel surveys, residential search and location decisions, and transportation safety using non-engineering methods
Email: qzchen@u.washington.edu

Kyle Crowder, Sociology
Ph.D. 1997, State University of New York, Albany
The dynamics and consequences of residential stratification
Email: kylecrow@uw.edu

Alison Cullen, Evans School of Public Affairs
Sc. D. 1992, Harvard University
Environmental risk analysis, environmental science and policy, quantitative uncertainty analysis, statistical decision theory
Email: alison@u.washington.edu

Glen Duncan , Epidemiology
Ph.D. 1997, University of Tennessee
Relationships among cardiovascular fitness, body fatness, and metabolic disease (e.g., metabolic syndrome and type 2 diabetes); Lifestyle interventions involving increased habitual physical activity and/or exercise training and dietary modifications in the prevention and treatment of metabolic and cardiovascular disease; and, Non-biological determinants of physical activity and obesity (e.g., access, income, and the physical environment).
Email: duncag@u.washington.edu

Adam Drewnowski, Epidemiology and Medicine
Ph.D. 1977, Rockefeller University
Relationship between poverty and obesity and the links between obesity and diabetes rates in vulnerable populations
Email: adamdrew@u.washington.edu

Mark Ellis, Geography
Ph.D. 1988, Indiana University
Immigration, labor markets, race and ethnicity
Email: ellism@u.washington.edu

Sarah Elwood, Geography
Ph.D. 2000, University of Minnesota
The social and political impacts of spatial technologies such as GIS, and the changing role and power of community-based planning and local activism in shaping urban geographies
Email: selwood@u.washington.edu

Elaine Faustman, Environmental Health
Ph.D. 1980, Michigan State University
Developmental toxicology, risk assessment methodologies, toxicology of N-nitroso compounds
Email: faustman@u.washington.edu

Anne Goodchild, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. 2005, UC Berkeley
The analysis of logistic systems, with an emphasis on freight transportation
Email: annegood@u.washington.edu

Peter Guttorp, Statistics
Ph.D. 1980, University of California at Berkeley
The uses of stochastic models in scientific applications in hydrology, atmospheric science, geophysics, environmental science, and hematology.
Email: peter@stat.washington.edu

Stevan Harrell, Anthropology
Ph.D. 1974, Stanford
Environmental anthropology, ecosystem resilience, family and demography, ethnicity and ethnic relations, material culture, translation; China and Taiwan.
Email: stevehar@u.washington.edu

James W. Harrington, Jr., Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs & Professor, Urban Studies, UW Tacoma
Ph.D. 1983, University of Washington
Economic geography, regional economic development, geography of labor
Email: jwh@u.washington.edu

Jeff Hou, Landscape Architecture
Ph.D. 2001, California (Berkeley)
Community design, design activism, insurgent planning, democracy and public space, transcultural urbanism, Asian cities
Email: jhou@u.washington.edu

Phil Hurvitz, Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 2010, University of Washington
The relationship between physical activity and built environment at fine spatial and temporal scales
Email: phurvitz@uw.edu

Miriam Kahn, Anthropology
Ph.D. 1980, Bryn Mawr College
Cultural representations, museum exhibition, place-making, tourism; Oceania
Email: mkahn@u.washington.edu

Soo Hyung Kim, College of Forest Resources
Ph.D. 2001, University of California, Davis
Examining how plants interact with abiotic and biotic factors in the environment at scales from leaf to whole-plant through canopy and ecosystem
Email: soohkim@u.washington.edu

Timothy Larrson,Civil & Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. 1976, University of Washington
Air Quality (Management Aspects), Atmospheric Chemistry, Measurement Methods for Atmospheric Aerosols, Precipitation Scavenging, Health Effects of Aerosols, Source/Receptor Models.
Email: tlarson@u.washington.edu

Joshua Lawler, College of Forest Resources
Ph.D. 2000, Utah State University
Conservation biology and landscape ecology. How human activities affect ecological systems at large spatial scales.
Email: jlawler@u.washington.edu

David Layton, Public Affairs
Ph.D. 1995, University of Washington
Environmental and natural resource policy
Email: dflayton@u.washington.edu

Miles Logsdon, Ocean and Fishery Sciences
Ph.D. 1997, University of Washington
Spatial pattern analysis in ecosystem sciences and the applications of Geographic Information Science (GIS) and Remote Sensing in ecosystem models
Email: mlog@u.washington.edu

Lynne Manzo, Landscape Architecture
Ph.D. 1994 City University of New York
The study of the interrelationships between people and their physical surroundings, including not only natural and built settings, but also the socio-cultural and political milieu that shape the appearance, meanings, and use of space
Email: lmanzo@u.washington.edu

John Marzluff, Forest Resources
Ph.D. 1987, Northern Arizona University
Wildlife habitat relationships, avian ecology, animal behavior, conservation biology, endangered species recovery
Email: corvid@u.washington.edu

Donald H. Miller, Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 1973, University of California, Berkeley
Urban spatial structure, consumer behavior and demand for public services, planning theory and evaluation, urbanization processes
Email: millerd@u.washington.edu

David Montgomery, Earth and Space Sciences
Ph.D. 1991, University of California, Berkeley
Evolution of topography and the influence of geomorphological processes on ecological systems and human societies
Email: dave@ess.washington.edu

Monika Moskal, School of Forest Resources, College of the Environment
Ph.D. 2005, University of Kansas
As director of the Remote Sensing and Geospatial Analysis Laboratory(RSGAL), her research goal is to understand multiscale and multidimensional dynamics of landscape change through the application of remote sensing, GIS and geospatial tools.
Email: lmmoskal@uw.edu

Anne Vernez Moudon, Urban Design and Planning
Dr. es Sc., 1987, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (Switzerland)
Urban design, city form and neighborhood studies, design research
Email: moudon@u.washington.edu

Robert Mugerauer, Professor, College of Built Environments
Ph.D. 1973, University of Texas
Sustainability and the impact of technology in built and natural environments; values, social, and cultural factors in design and planning; theory and current research methods
Email: drbobm@u.washington.edu

Timothy L. Nyerges, Geography
Ph.D. 1980, Ohio State University
CyberGIS-based decision support for sustainability management; GIS data management; web GIS and public participation GIS; GIS problem solving and critical thinking; data integration; land use, transportation and water resource applications of GIS
Email: nyerges@u.washington.edu

Vikram Prakash, Architecture
Ph.D. 1994, Cornell University
Interdisciplinary perspectives of culture studies applied to architecture, non-western architecture, modernism and culture theory
Email: vprakash@u.washington.edu

Mark Purcell, Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 1998, California (Los Angeles)
Urban, political, economic, and social geography; citizenship and democracy; urban social movements, especially Los Angeles and Seattle
Email: mpurcell@u.washington.edu

Clare Ryan, Forest Resources
Ph.D. 1996, University of Michigan
Natural resource policy processes and administration, natural resource conflict management
Email: cmryan@u.washington.edu

Brian Saelens, Pediatrics and Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Ph.D. 1998, SUNY Buffalo
Pediatric obesity intervention, environmental and policy factors related to physical activity and diet
Email: bsaelens@u.washington.edu

Qing Shen, Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 1993, UC Berkeley
Urban economics, transportation planning, statistical methods and geographic information systems; alternative patterns of urban growth and the ways in which information technologies are shaping cities, particularly their responses to environmental change
Email: qs@u.washington.edu

Thaisa Way, Landscape Architecture
Ph.D. 2005, Cornell
The development of cultural landscapes, designed landscapes, and the emerging discipline of landscape preservation
Email: tway@u.washington.edu

Jan Whittington, Urban Design and Planning
Ph.D. 2008, University of California at Berkeley
Understanding the economic and environmental consequences of large scale infrastructure projects, comprehensive planning and implementation.
Email: janwhit@u.washington.edu

Suzanne Withers, Geography
Ph.D. 1992, UCLA
Quantitative and longitudinal methods; poverty; urban housing; population; spatial demography
Email: swithers@u.washington.edu

Ken Yocom, Landscape Architecture
Ph.D. 2007, University of Washington
Developing ecologically based design frameworks examining the relationships between natural and socio-economic processes that have created and support the patterns of our urban environments.
Email: kyocom@uw.edu

Richard O. Zerbe, (Professor Emeritus), Public Affairs
Ph.D. 1969, Duke University
Law and economics
Email: zerbe@u.washington.edu