2011 Legacy Award Recipients – UW Bothell Founders

2011 Legacy Award recipients with Chancellor Chan

Dick and Virginia Chappelle, Maryel Duzan, Max Gellert, Rod Proctor and Lynn Ries were selected as recipients of the 2011 UW Bothell Legacy Award.

The awardees received the accolade for service they performed over a 20-year period, including groundbreaking work that established the University of Washington branch campuses in Bothell and Tacoma. The group also created the UW Bothell Founders Endowed Fellowship, which provides undergraduate students the opportunity to engage in independent research across disciplines.

UW Bothell Chancellor Kenyon Chan commended the individuals for their remarkable leadership and tremendous vision. “UW Bothell would not exist today were it not for these brilliant and tireless advocates of higher education.”

The awards were presented at the 2011 Chancellor’s Dinner and Reception, held at the Chateau Ste. Michelle Winery in Woodinville, Washington.