2014 Legacy Award Recipients – Rosemary McAuliffe, Mark Ericks and Derek Kilmer

The recipients of the 2014 UW Bothell Legacy Award, which is presented annually to recognize individuals that support the university in its vision and impact on the community, are Snohomish County Deputy Executive Mark Ericks, state Senator Rosemary McAuliffe and Representative Derek Kilmer.

“These community leaders have demonstrated great support and a lifelong commitment to UW Bothell, students and higher education,” says Chancellor Wolf Yeigh. “Thanks to their commitment, UW Bothell has grown and will be able to provide access and opportunity to greater numbers of students across the state of Washington.”

Ericks’ and McAuliffe’s legislative support in the expansion of the Washington public higher education system was instrumental in the founding of UW Bothell in 1990.

Kilmer’s and McAuliffe’s commitment to providing education and job opportunities in the STEM field resulted in the allocation of funding for Discovery Hall, home to UW Bothell’s School of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics. Discovery Hall is the first building to be constructed on the UW campus in more than 10 years; the building will accommodate an additional 1,000 students.

The award was presented at the annual Chancellor’s Reception on May 17, in the newly constructed Discovery Hall.

Enjoy these photos from the Discovery Hall groundbreaking event.